Key facts
- Adults are advised to do muscle-strengthening activity of moderate or greater intensity on 2 or more days a week, involving all major muscle groups. 1
- The ACSM position stand suggests resistance exercise for each major muscle group on 2 to 3 days a week. 2
- Rep Fitness lists resistance bands from $11.19 (read 2026-10-16). 5
- Tonal 2 asks for a 7 ft by 7 ft floor area; the Speediance Gym Monster 2 lists about 9.04 square feet unfolded. 9
How do you choose home gym equipment?
Most buying mistakes come from starting with a product. Start with two questions: what do you want to train, and how much floor and wall do you have?
The Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans advise adults to do muscle-strengthening activities of moderate or greater intensity, involving all major muscle groups, on 2 or more days a week.1 The ACSM position stand on exercise for healthy adults suggests resistance exercise for each major muscle group on 2 to 3 days a week, and says the program should be modified to a person’s habits, function, health status and goals.2 The CDC names the groups: legs, hips, back, abdomen, chest, shoulders and arms.3
Any equipment that loads those groups on 2 or more days meets the activity part of the advice. So the list below is about fit, not about which item is best. For prices and a worked cost example, see how much a home gym costs.
Which equipment categories exist, and what are they for?
MedlinePlus describes strength exercise as work with weights, resistance bands or your own body weight.4 Home gym equipment is the set of tools that supply that resistance. The table groups them by what they do and what the makers list. Prices are the “from” prices on the maker’s US page, read on 2026-10-16.
| Category | What it supplies | Range of listed prices | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Resistance bands | Elastic resistance, light and portable | $11.19 to $74.995 | Rep Fitness bands page |
| Kettlebells | Fixed or adjustable weights for swings and carries | From $24.99 (lb); adjustable from $149.99; set 8 to 24 kg $360.996 | Rep Fitness kettlebells page |
| Adjustable dumbbells | Many dumbbell weights in one pair | From $335.99 (30 to 60 lb) to from $899.99 (up to 125 lb)7 | Rep Fitness dumbbells page |
| Adjustable bench | A seat or back support for presses and rows | $269.99 to $599.998 | Rep Fitness benches page |
| Power rack or squat rack | A frame that holds a barbell safely | From $379.99 to from $2,999.9910 | Rep Fitness racks page |
| Barbell | A bar for squats, presses and deadlifts | $159.99 to $499.99 for the bars listed11 | Rep Fitness barbells page |
| Functional trainer or cable machine | Cable resistance in many directions | From $264.99 to $2,699.99 across the machines listed12 | Rep Fitness collection page |
| Wall-mounted or freestanding digital machine | Motorized resistance in place of weights | $1,990 (Chutex Model I) to $4,295 (Tonal 2)913 | Maker pages |
Prices are “from” prices where the maker lists variants, and sale prices end. Weight plates, flooring and storage are not priced here because they were not read. The table is a dated set of facts, not a ranking.
Two notes on reading it. First, a low price for a category does not mean the cheapest item suits you; a wide range inside a category usually reflects capacity, build and features. Second, a barbell alone does not make a station: it needs plates and a rack or stands, and those are extra items.
Which equipment fits which goal?
Match the tool to the movements you will actually do. The table below pairs common goals with equipment categories. Several categories can serve one goal.
| If you want to | Categories that fit | Check before buying |
|---|---|---|
| Start with light, low-cost resistance | Bands, kettlebell, adjustable dumbbells | Lightest and heaviest weight, and whether it can grow with you |
| Train all major muscle groups with little equipment | Bands plus adjustable dumbbells, or a cable machine | Which movements cover legs, back, chest, shoulders, arms and abdomen3 |
| Lift a barbell for squats and presses | Rack or stands, barbell, plates, bench | Ceiling height, floor strength, plates (not priced here) |
| Pull and push in many directions | Functional trainer, cable tower, motorized machine | Pulley ratio, resistance range, footprint |
| Change load in small steps | Motorized machine with 1 lb steps, adjustable dumbbells | Step size stated by the maker |
| Share equipment with others in the household | Adjustable equipment with quick changes | How long a weight change takes |
General pairings. Your own movements and limits decide what fits. If you have a health condition, an injury or pain, ask a health professional what is suitable before you buy.
Dumbbell ranges give a feel for how far a pair can grow. The Rep QuickDraw lists 30, 40, 50 and 60 lb options per dumbbell, with 60 lb as the maximum, and the FAST Series lists options up to 125 lb.7 A pair at 60 lb is 120 lb in total on the floor, which matters for storage and floor load.
Cable machines cover more directions. Our home cable machine guide explains pulley ratios, types and wall checks, and the cable machine exercise library shows the movements. If you are weighing cables against free weights, read cable machine vs free weights.
Which equipment fits which space?
Space is the other filter. Makers rarely publish the same measurements, so the table below shows only the figures that were read, and marks the rest as not stated.
| Equipment | Space figure stated | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Resistance bands, kettlebells | Not stated on the pages read; they store in a bag or shelf | 56 |
| Adjustable dumbbells | Footprint not stated; Rep sells a storage stand ($299.99) and a cart ($349.99) | 7 |
| Rep Arcadia functional trainer | Cable travel 81 in; trolley height 13 to 68 in; footprint and ceiling not stated | 12 |
| Speediance Gym Monster 2 | About 9.04 sq ft unfolded, 2.69 sq ft folded; 72.83 in high; freestanding | 14 |
| Tonal 2 | 7 ft by 7 ft floor (49 sq ft), 7 ft wall width, 7 ft 10 in ceiling; wall-mounted | 9 |
| Chutex Model I | Wall-mounted; needs a load-bearing wall; floor area not stated in the facts read | 13 |
Floor area for Tonal 2 is 7 × 7 = 49 square feet. Compare with 9.04 for the unfolded Gym Monster: 49 ÷ 9.04 is about 5.4.
A quick room test works for any item. Mark the floor area the maker lists, then stand inside it with your arms raised. If the marked area blocks a door or a walkway, it is too much space. A ceiling check works the same way: measure the height of your ceiling, then add the height of your reach.
How do the three kinds of set-ups compare?
Equipment tends to fall into three set-ups. Each has a different footprint, a different cost shape and a different set of movements.
- Light and portable
- Bands, a kettlebell or adjustable dumbbells. Little floor, easy storage, lowest cost in the table. Resistance tops out at the weight of the item, so check the heaviest option.567
- Barbell station
- Rack, bar, bench and plates. Strong for the big lifts, with the most floor and ceiling demands. Plates were not priced in this guide.81011
- Cable or digital machine
- One station for many directions. Prices are higher, and mounting or floor space needs a check. Digital machines may add a membership: Tonal 2 requires one at $59.95 a month.9
Many home gyms mix them: a bench and adjustable dumbbells, plus bands for warm-ups. The point is to be able to load every major muscle group on two or more days a week without fighting your own room.1
How do you buy safely and start safely?
Read the maker’s weight limits, assembly steps and warranty on the day you buy. Rep Fitness offers professional assembly for some machines, billed after the work and booked at least a week ahead.12 Check what is in the box: handles, bars and attachments are sometimes sold separately.
The Physical Activity Guidelines advise people who are inactive to start low and go slow.1 MedlinePlus advises checking with your health care provider before you begin, especially if you have trouble moving or balancing. It also says to stop and seek help right away if you have pain, extreme shortness of breath or dizziness.4
For a first program, see how to start strength training. For adults over 60, read strength training for seniors.
Frequently asked questions
What equipment do I need for a basic home gym?
There is no fixed list. US guidelines ask adults for muscle-strengthening activity involving all major muscle groups on 2 or more days a week, so choose equipment that lets you load legs, hips, back, abdomen, chest, shoulders and arms. Bands and adjustable dumbbells are one low-footprint option.
What is the best home gym equipment for a small space?
This guide does not rank products. For small rooms, bands, kettlebells and adjustable dumbbells have the smallest footprint. The Speediance Gym Monster 2 lists about 2.69 square feet when folded, against 9.04 unfolded.
How much floor space does a wall-mounted machine need?
Tonal 2 lists a 7 ft by 7 ft floor area, 7 ft of wall width and a 7 ft 10 in ceiling. Other makers give different figures, so check the page of the machine you want.
Do I need a rack to lift weights at home?
Not for every set-up. A rack holds a barbell safely for squats and presses. Bands, dumbbells, kettlebells and cable machines do not use one.
How often should I use home gym equipment?
The Physical Activity Guidelines advise adults to do muscle-strengthening activity on 2 or more days a week. The ACSM suggests resistance exercise for each major muscle group on 2 to 3 days a week.
Should I buy a cable machine or free weights?
Both can load the major muscle groups. Cable machines pull in many directions and often start with light loads. Free weights are simpler and cheaper. Our comparison guide sets out the differences.
Can I put a cable machine on any wall?
No. Wall-mounted machines need a wall that can carry the load. The Chutex Model I needs a load-bearing wall. Ask a qualified professional to check, and follow the maker’s instructions.
Sources
- Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2nd edition, Executive Summary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ODPHP. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Garber CE et al. ACSM position stand: quantity and quality of exercise for developing and maintaining fitness in apparently healthy adults. Med Sci Sports Exerc. 2011;43(7):1334-1359, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- CDC, Adult Activity: An Overview (muscle-strengthening, page dated Dec. 20, 2023), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- MedlinePlus, Exercise and Physical Fitness, National Library of Medicine, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Exercise Bands (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Kettlebells (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Adjustable Dumbbells (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Adjustable Weight Benches (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Tonal, Tonal 2 (product page), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Racks (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Barbells (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Functional Trainers and Cable Machines (collection page) and Arcadia product page, Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Model I US product page, resistance range, mounting and price, Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Speediance, Gym Monster 2 (product page), Speediance. Retrieved October 16, 2026