Key facts
- The Rep Fitness Arcadia lists a 2:1 pulley ratio: 100 lb on the stack feels like 50 lb at the handle. 1
- Tonal 2 is professionally mounted on a wall like a TV mount and asks for a 7 ft by 7 ft floor area. 4
- The Speediance Gym Monster 2 is freestanding and needs about 9.04 square feet unfolded. 5
- Adults are advised to do muscle-strengthening activity on 2 or more days a week, covering all major muscle groups. 6
- The Chutex Model I is wall-mounted, offers motorized resistance from 4.4 to 110 lb and needs a load-bearing wall. 8
What is a home cable machine?
A cable machine is a strength training station where a cable runs from a source of resistance, over one or more pulleys, to a handle or attachment. The source can be a weight stack, loaded plates or an electric motor. You pull or push the handle, and the cable carries the load to you.
The point of the cable is direction. A dumbbell pulls straight down because of gravity. A cable pulls along the line of the cable, so a pulley set high gives a pulldown, one set low gives a row or a curl, and one at chest height gives a press or a fly. That is why one machine can stand in for many movements.
Gyms have used cable stations for years. What changed is the home version. Maker pages now list compact functional trainers with two adjustable arms, column-style cable towers, and digital machines that use a motor in place of a weight stack.1245 This guide explains how they differ, what to measure in your room and what to ask before you pay.
How does a cable pulley and its load ratio work?
A pulley changes the direction of a cable. When a pulley also moves with the load, it changes how much cable you pull for each inch the load travels, and it changes how heavy the handle feels. That relation is the pulley ratio.
Rep Fitness gives a clear example for its Arcadia Functional Trainer. The page lists a 2:1 ratio and says that moving 100 lb feels like 50 lb.1 In a 2:1 setup the handle moves two inches of cable for every inch the weight stack moves, and the load at the handle is half the stack load.
The same page lists a base stack of 170 lb per side, an upgraded stack of 220 lb per side, and a minimum usable weight of 20 lb per side.1 Apply the stated ratio and you get the numbers in the table below. It is arithmetic from the maker’s ratio, not a separate measurement.
| Stack setting | Stack load per side | Divide by 2 (ratio 2:1) | Felt at the handle |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum usable weight | 20 lb | 20 ÷ 2 | 10 lb |
| Base stack, full | 170 lb | 170 ÷ 2 | 85 lb |
| Upgraded stack, full | 220 lb | 220 ÷ 2 | 110 lb |
Stack figures and the 2:1 ratio are from the Rep Fitness page.1 The page also describes weight steps in two ways: 10 lb increases that feel like 5 lb in the FAQ, and 10 lb in the overview. Check the step size with the maker before relying on it.1
Why it matters when you shop: a 2:1 trainer makes the handle load smaller and gives you finer steps at the handle, but you also pull more cable per repetition. A 1:1 setup is direct. The Rep Adonis page shows a caption that pairs a 2:1 functional trainer with a 1:1 lat pulldown and low row on the same tower.2 So one machine can hold more than one ratio. Always read which ratio applies to which station before you compare numbers.
Digital machines skip the stack. Tonal 2 lists resistance from 5 to 250 lb in 1 lb steps.4 The Speediance Gym Monster 2 lists up to 220 lb in 1 lb steps, with per-arm maximums of 110 lb on the GM2 and 130 lb on the GM2S.5 The Speediance page also lists a “Digital Weight Precision” of 8 lb, which does not match the 1 lb step, so ask the maker how the figure is defined.5
Which types of home cable machine exist?
Three layouts cover most of what you will see. Each trades floor space, adjustability and cost in a different way.
Column or tower with one cable
A tower puts one or two cable stations on a vertical column. Rep Fitness lists an Adonis Cable Tower in plate-loaded and plate-loaded plus selectorized versions, with options for a base and an attachment.2 Selectorized means a weight stack with a pin. Plate-loaded means you add plates yourself. Tower style suits lat pulldowns, rows and a limited set of cable work.
Functional trainer with two adjustable arms
A functional trainer has two cable arms that slide up and down a track, so you can set each pulley at any height. The Rep Arcadia lists cable travel of 81 in and a trolley height from 13 in to 68 in.1 Two independent arms allow chest flies, split-stance presses and one-arm work. Rep’s collection page also lists side-mount functional trainer builders, designed to sit on a power rack, and a Selectorized Lat Pulldown and Low Row.3
Wall-mounted motorized machine
A motorized machine replaces the stack with an electric motor and mounts to a wall. Tonal 2 is described by its maker as professionally mounted on the wall, similar to a TV wall mount.4 The Chutex Model I belongs to this family: it is wall-mounted, offers motorized resistance from 4.4 to 110 lb, and needs a load-bearing wall.8 The Speediance Gym Monster 2 is a motorized machine too, but it is freestanding and its page says no drilling or wall mounting is needed.5
| Model | Type | Resistance | Mounting and space | Price as read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rep Fitness Arcadia Functional Trainer | Two-arm functional trainer, weight stack | 170 lb per side base, 220 lb per side upgraded, 2:1 ratio1 | Footprint and mounting not stated on the page1 | $2,199.99; stack upgrade +$324.991 |
| Rep Fitness Adonis Cable Tower | Cable tower, plate-loaded or selectorized | Capacity not stated; 2:1 trainer and 1:1 pulldown station2 | Mounting and footprint not stated2 | $1,999.992 |
| Rep Fitness Athena Plate-Loaded Side-Mount Functional Trainer | Side-mount trainer for a rack | Not stated3 | Not stated3 | From $474.993 |
| Tonal 2 | Wall-mounted motorized | 5 to 250 lb in 1 lb steps4 | 7 ft by 7 ft floor, 7 ft wall width, 7 ft 10 in ceiling4 | $4,295; membership $59.95 a month required4 |
| Speediance Gym Monster 2 | Freestanding motorized | Up to 220 lb; 110 lb per arm on the GM25 | About 9.04 sq ft unfolded, 2.69 sq ft folded5 | $3,387 on sale, listed at $3,849 before5 |
| Chutex Model I | Wall-mounted motorized | 4.4 to 110 lb8 | Fixed to the wall; needs a load-bearing wall8 | $1,990 before tax, one-time8 |
Prices change often, and sale prices end. Each cell carries the source that supports it. A value the maker did not state on the page is shown as not stated. The table is a dated set of facts, not a ranking.
How much space and wall strength do you need?
Measure before you click buy. Makers give different kinds of numbers, so convert them to the same unit first.
Tonal 2 asks for 7 ft of unobstructed wall width, a 7 ft by 7 ft floor area and a 7 ft 10 in ceiling. The unit itself is 50.9 in high and 21.5 in wide and extends 5.5 in from the wall.4 The floor area is 7 × 7 = 49 square feet.
The Speediance Gym Monster 2 lists an unfolded size of 48.03 in by 27.16 in by 72.83 in, and about 9.04 square feet of floor unfolded and 2.69 square feet folded.5 Compare the two floor figures: 49 ÷ 9.04 is about 5.4, so the Tonal 2 asks for roughly five times the floor area that the Gym Monster lists when unfolded. The two machines use space in different ways, so the ratio shows the scale of the difference, not which is better.
Add the height of the person, not just the machine. A cable pulled overhead needs ceiling clearance for your arms, and the Speediance page notes that its pulley can be set up to 1,656 mm, about 65 in.5 The ceiling requirement is not stated there, so check it against your own room.
For freestanding machines, think about the floor too. A floor that carries a stack and a person is a different question from a floor that carries a sofa. The maker’s weight figure and the instructions are the place to start. For example, the Speediance page lists 171.96 lb for the machine itself.5
What can you train on a cable machine?
The Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans advise adults to do muscle-strengthening activity of moderate or greater intensity, involving all major muscle groups, on 2 or more days a week.6 The CDC lists those groups as legs, hips, back, abdomen, chest, shoulders and arms.7 A cable station can cover each of them.
| Muscle group7 | Common cable movement | Where the pulley sits |
|---|---|---|
| Legs and hips | Cable pull-through, cable squat, leg kickback with an ankle strap | Low |
| Back | Seated row, lat pulldown, face pull | Low for rows, high for pulldowns |
| Chest | Cable press, cable fly | Mid or high |
| Shoulders | Lateral raise, front raise, face pull | Low to mid |
| Arms | Biceps curl, triceps pressdown | Low for curls, high for pressdowns |
| Abdomen | Cable crunch, woodchop, anti-rotation press | High or mid |
The muscle groups come from the CDC.7 The movement names are common gym terms and are only examples. The pulley positions are typical setups, and your machine may differ. See the exercise library for each movement.
Beyond the muscle list, a cable offers constant tension through a movement and lets you change the angle without moving the machine. It also allows light loads for beginners, which a barbell cannot, because even an empty bar has a fixed weight. A minimum of 10 lb at the handle on the Arcadia, derived above, is one example.1
If you want movement ideas for a wall pulley without a full station, read the guide to wall pulley exercises. For every exercise on a full cable station, use the cable machine exercise library. If you are still deciding between a cable machine and barbells or dumbbells, see cable machine vs free weights.
MedlinePlus describes strength exercise as work that uses weights, resistance bands or your own body weight to build stronger muscles.9 A cable machine is one tool among those. It does not replace a plan.
What should you check before buying?
Use the questions below as a checklist. Every one of them can be answered from a maker page or by asking the maker.
- Resistance source
- Stack, plates or motor. A stack is simple and has no screen. A motor allows fine steps and modes. Tonal 2 and the Speediance Gym Monster 2 list 1 lb steps.45 The Arcadia lists steps of 10 lb on the stack.1
- Ratio
- Look for 1:1, 2:1 or another figure, and for which station it applies to. A 2:1 setup halves the felt load.1
- Resistance range at the handle
- Check the lowest value as well as the highest. A low floor lets you start light and add weight gradually. Compare the figures in the same unit and at the same point, handle or stack.
- Footprint and ceiling
- Compare the maker’s floor area and ceiling height with your room. Tonal 2 lists 7 ft by 7 ft and 7 ft 10 in.4 The Speediance lists 9.04 square feet unfolded.5
- Fixing
- Wall-mounted or freestanding. A wall-mounted machine needs a wall that can carry it.8 A freestanding one needs floor space and stability.
- Ongoing cost
- Tonal 2 requires a 12-month membership at $59.95 a month.4 The Speediance page did not state a membership price for this model.5 A stack machine has none.
- Assembly and delivery
- Rep Fitness offers professional assembly for the Arcadia, billed after the service, and asks for a booking at least one week out.1
- Attachments
- Handles, a bar, a rope and ankle straps are the ones most used. Check what is included. The maker pages cited here do not all list them.
Before you commit, make a list of the five movements you would use every week, and check that the machine can set the pulley where each one needs it.
What does a cable machine cost?
Maker pages read on 2026-10-16 show a wide spread. Rep Fitness lists cable machines from $264.99 for a plate-loaded lat pulldown and low row up to $2,699.99 for the Arcadia Max functional trainer.3 Digital machines in the table above run from $1,990 for the Model I to $4,295 for Tonal 2, before tax and any membership.458
Add the pieces. A machine price rarely covers the room, the floor, the bench or the membership. The guide to how much a home gym costs adds up three set-ups with the arithmetic visible, and home gym equipment sorts equipment by goal and space.
For a wider look at connected machines, the guide to the best smart home gym sets out criteria and a dated table.
How do you train safely on a new machine?
The Physical Activity Guidelines advise people who are inactive to start low and go slow, beginning with lower intensity activity and building up gradually.6 On a cable machine that means starting at a load you can control through the whole movement, then adding weight once the movement feels steady.
MedlinePlus advises that if you have not exercised in a while, you start slowly and talk to your provider if you have health concerns. It adds that if you have pain, extreme shortness of breath or dizziness, you should stop exercising and seek help right away.9
Check the cable, handles and attachments before each session, and follow the maker’s instructions. This guide does not replace those instructions or advice from a qualified health professional.
Tools for this topic
- Cable machine exercise library Movements one by one, with setup and cues for each.
Frequently asked questions
What is a home cable machine?
It is a strength station where a cable runs over pulleys from a resistance source, such as a weight stack, plates or a motor, to a handle. Because you can set the pulley at different heights, one machine can load many muscle groups.
What does a 2:1 pulley ratio mean?
Rep Fitness states that a 2:1 ratio on its Arcadia trainer means 100 lb on the stack feels like 50 lb at the handle. So the felt load is half the stack load, and you pull more cable per repetition.
How much space does a home cable machine need?
It depends on the type. Tonal 2 lists a 7 ft by 7 ft floor area, a 7 ft wall width and a 7 ft 10 in ceiling. The Speediance Gym Monster 2 lists about 9.04 square feet unfolded. Measure your room against the maker’s figures.
Can I mount a cable machine on any wall?
No. A wall-mounted machine puts its load on the structure behind the wall surface. The Chutex Model I needs a load-bearing wall. Ask a qualified contractor or structural professional to check your wall, and follow the maker’s instructions.
What is the difference between a cable machine and a functional trainer?
A functional trainer is a type of cable machine with two adjustable arms that slide along a track. Other types include a single-cable tower and wall-mounted motorized machines.
How often should I do strength training?
The Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans advise muscle-strengthening activity of moderate or greater intensity, involving all major muscle groups, on 2 or more days a week for adults.
Which muscle groups can a cable machine work?
The CDC lists legs, hips, back, abdomen, chest, shoulders and arms as the major groups. A cable station with adjustable pulleys can load each of them. The exercise library shows movements one by one.
Do digital cable machines need a subscription?
It depends on the maker. Tonal 2 requires a 12-month membership at $59.95 a month. The Speediance Gym Monster 2 page did not state a membership price for that model. Check the maker’s page on the day you buy.
Sources
- Rep Fitness, Arcadia Functional Trainer (product page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Adonis Cable Tower (product page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Rep Fitness, Functional Trainers and Cable Machines (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Tonal, Tonal 2 (product page), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Speediance, Gym Monster 2 (product page), Speediance. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2nd edition, Executive Summary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, ODPHP. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- CDC, Adult Activity: An Overview (muscle-strengthening, page dated Dec. 20, 2023), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Model I US product page, resistance range, mounting and price, Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- MedlinePlus, Exercise and Physical Fitness, National Library of Medicine, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026