Chutex

Cost comparison

How much does a home gym cost? Price ranges by category and total cost of ownership

It depends on the set-up. On maker pages read on 2026-10-16, Rep Fitness lists resistance bands from $11.19 and adjustable benches from $269.99, while Tonal 2 costs $4,295 plus a required $59.95 monthly membership.128 A basic bench and dumbbell set sits well under $1,000, and a digital machine costs several times that.

Key facts

  • Rep Fitness lists resistance bands from $11.19 to $74.99 (read 2026-10-16). 1
  • Rep Fitness lists adjustable benches from $269.99 to $599.99 (read 2026-10-16). 3
  • Tonal 2 costs $4,295 and requires a 12-month membership at $59.95 a month, which adds $719.40 a year. 8
  • The Rep Fitness Arcadia functional trainer costs $2,199.99, plus $324.99 for the larger weight stack. 7
  • Anytime Fitness says membership pricing varies depending on location, so one gym price does not exist. 10

What does home gym equipment cost, by category?

There is no single home gym price, because a home gym can be a band and a bench or a motorized wall unit. The table lists the prices that makers show on their US pages, read on 2026-10-16. Rep Fitness is used for most categories because its pages list many items at once. Where a page shows “From”, the price is the lowest variant.

Price ranges by category, read on maker pages on 2026-10-16 (US dollars, before tax)
CategoryLowest price listedHighest price listedNotesSource
Resistance bands$11.19$74.99Short bands up to a 2.0 band set1
Adjustable dumbbells (pair)From $335.99From $899.99QuickDraw 30 to 60 lb; FAST Series up to 125 lb2
Adjustable bench$269.99$599.99AB-3100 to BlackWing3
Power rack or squat rackFrom $379.99From $2,999.99PR-1100 to Ares 2.0 Builder4
Barbell$159.99$499.99Curl bar to commercial trap bar; plates not priced5
Functional trainer or cable machineFrom $264.99From $2,699.99Lat pulldown station to Arcadia Max6
Digital machine, wall-mounted or freestanding$1,990 (Chutex Model I)$4,295 (Tonal 2)Speediance Gym Monster 2 is $3,387 on sale8911

Sale prices end and “From” prices rise with options. Weight plates, flooring, delivery to your room and installation are not priced here because they were not read on a maker page. The table is a dated set of facts, not a ranking.

Read the ranges as shape, not a promise. A wide gap in one category, such as racks from $379.99 to $2,999.99, comes from capacity and build, which are things to check on the maker page. For equipment categories sorted by goal and space, see home gym equipment.

Price ranges by category, in US dollarsFloating bars on a zero to 3,000 dollar axis: bands 11.19 to 74.99, dumbbells 335.99 to 899.99, benches 269.99 to 599.99, racks 379.99 to 2,999.99, barbells 159.99 to 499.99, cable machines 264.99 to 2,699.99.050010001500200025003000Bands$11.19 to $74.99Adjustable dumbbells$335.99 to $899.99Adjustable bench$269.99 to $599.99Power or squat rack$379.99 to $2,999.99Barbell$159.99 to $499.99Cable machine$264.99 to $2,699.99US dollars
Rep Fitness prices read on 2026-10-16.123456 The bars show the lowest and highest price listed in each category on that day, not an average and not a recommendation.

What is the total cost of owning a home gym?

Total cost of ownership is the purchase price plus what you keep paying. For most equipment the second part is zero. For digital machines it can be a membership. Add the pieces for the period you care about, and keep tax, delivery and accessories separate until you have a quote.

Below are three illustrative set-ups built only from prices read on 2026-10-16. They are examples of arithmetic, not recommended purchases.

Worked set-ups: what each adds up to (maker prices read on 2026-10-16, before tax)
Set-upItems and pricesArithmeticTotal
A. Light setTube bands with handles $19.991; QuickDraw dumbbell pair from $335.992; AB-3100 bench $269.99319.99 + 335.99 + 269.99$625.97
B. Barbell station (no plates)PR-1100 power rack from $379.994; Delta Basic Bar $199.995; AB-3100 bench $269.993379.99 + 199.99 + 269.99$849.97
C. Cable trainer, larger stackArcadia Functional Trainer $2,199.99; stack upgrade +$324.9972,199.99 + 324.99$2,524.98

Set-up B excludes plates, which were not priced, so it is incomplete until you add them. Set-up C excludes assembly, whose price the page does not state. Free shipping is listed for the Arcadia.7 Sale prices and “From” variants change.

A reading tip: set-up A and set-up B use the same bench, so the difference between them is only the resistance source. That is $849.97 − $625.97 = $224.00 more for the rack and bar, before plates.

How do digital machines add up over time?

A machine with a required membership has a cost that grows with the years. Tonal 2 lists $4,295 to buy, professional wall mounting, and a required 12-month membership at $59.95 a month, plus tax.8 The page also lists a $279 monthly rental with a $49 one-time setup fee, which this guide leaves out of the arithmetic.8

Digital machines over one and three years (prices read on 2026-10-16, before tax; installation and accessories not priced)
MachinePurchase priceMembershipTotal after 1 yearTotal after 3 years
Tonal 2$4,2958$59.95 × 12 = $719.40 a year; × 36 = $2,158.20 over 3 years84,295 + 719.40 = $5,014.404,295 + 2,158.20 = $6,453.20
Speediance Gym Monster 2$3,387 on sale; $3,849 before the sale9Not stated on the page read9At least $3,387At least $3,387
Chutex Model I$1,990 before tax, one-time11None listed with the one-time price11$1,990$1,990

“At least” means the membership, if any, is not included because the page did not state one. Check the maker’s page on the day you buy. The Speediance page lists financing from $131 a month; financing terms are not part of this arithmetic.9

Divide by time to compare set-ups with different lifetimes. Spread over three years, Tonal 2 comes to $6,453.20 ÷ 3 = $2,151.07 a year, the Model I to $1,990 ÷ 3 = $663.33 a year, and set-up A to $625.97 ÷ 3 = $208.66 a year. If you keep the equipment longer, the yearly cost falls, because there is nothing more to pay on the items without a membership.

Total cost after three years for the worked set-ups, in US dollarsBars: set-up A $625.97, set-up B $849.97, set-up C $2,524.98, Speediance Gym Monster 2 at least $3,387, Tonal 2 $6,453.20.A. Light set$625.97B. Barbell station, no plates$849.97C. Cable trainer$2,524.98Speediance Gym Monster 2 (sale price)at least $3,387Tonal 2 with membership$6,453.20
Sums from the tables above, using maker prices read on 2026-10-16.12345789 Bars compare cost, not quality or fit. They do not include tax, installation, plates or flooring.

How does a home gym compare with a gym membership?

A fair comparison needs a gym price from a source you can cite, and none was available for this guide. Anytime Fitness states that membership pricing varies depending on location, and gives no figure.10 The Planet Fitness site could not be read on the day of writing. So this guide prints no gym price and no break-even date.

You can do the comparison yourself with your local price. Use this formula:

  1. Find your gym’s monthly fee and any joining or annual fee, from the gym’s own page or a quote.
  2. Multiply the monthly fee by 12 to get a yearly cost, then add the yearly fee if there is one.
  3. Multiply by the number of years you expect to use the gym.
  4. Compare with your home total for the same number of years, from the tables above.
  5. Count what the gym provides that a home set-up does not, such as classes, coaching or equipment you would not buy, and what it takes to get there.

For example, if a gym charged $F a month, three years costs F × 36 dollars, before any joining fee. Set-up A comes to $625.97 over any length of time with nothing more to pay, so it overtakes a gym that charges F when 36F is above $625.97. You supply F; this guide does not.

What is easy to forget in a home gym budget?

Plates and attachments
A barbell does not come with plates, and the prices read here do not include them. Check which handles, ropes and straps come with a cable machine.
Delivery and assembly
Rep lists free shipping on the Arcadia and offers professional assembly, billed after the work and booked at least a week ahead. Its price is not stated.7
Mounting
Tonal 2 is professionally mounted on a wall like a TV mount, and the Chutex Model I needs a load-bearing wall.811 Ask a qualified professional about the wall, and add the cost of any work.
Floor and room
Tonal 2 asks for a 7 ft by 7 ft floor area and a 7 ft 10 in ceiling. The Gym Monster 2 lists about 9.04 square feet unfolded.89
Membership and subscriptions
Tonal 2 requires a membership at $59.95 a month. The Speediance page did not state one for the Gym Monster 2.89
Tax
Prices here are before tax, as the makers show them. Add the tax for your state.
Storage
Rep sells an adjustable dumbbell stand at $299.99 and a storage cart at $349.99.2

A cable machine sits between a bench-and-dumbbell kit and a digital unit in cost. If that is the type you are weighing, the home cable machine guide covers ratio, space and wall checks, and cable machine vs free weights sets out the trade-offs.

For connected machines in particular, see the best smart home gym guide, and Tonal vs Vitruvian for a side-by-side with dated prices.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a basic home gym cost?

On maker pages read on 2026-10-16, tube bands with handles ($19.99), a QuickDraw adjustable dumbbell pair (from $335.99) and an AB-3100 bench ($269.99) add up to $625.97 before tax.

How much does a cable machine for home use cost?

Rep Fitness lists cable machines from $264.99 to $2,699.99 on its collection page. Tonal 2 is $4,295 and the Speediance Gym Monster 2 was $3,387 on sale on the day read. The Chutex Model I is $1,990 before tax.

Is a home gym cheaper than a gym membership?

It depends on your gym’s price, which varies by location. No gym price was available from a citable source for this guide. The formula in the comparison section lets you compare your own monthly fee with the home totals.

Do digital home gym machines have monthly fees?

Some do. Tonal 2 requires a 12-month membership at $59.95 a month, which is $719.40 a year. The Speediance Gym Monster 2 page did not state a membership price.

What costs extra beyond the equipment?

Plates for a barbell, flooring, delivery and assembly, wall work for mounted machines, storage and tax. Several of these were not priced on the maker pages, so ask for a quote.

How much does a power rack cost?

Rep Fitness lists racks from $379.99 for the PR-1100 power rack up to $2,999.99 for the Ares 2.0 builder, with “From” prices that rise with options.

Why do prices differ so much within one category?

Capacity, build, features and options change the price. A wide range, such as racks from $379.99 to $2,999.99, means the details on the maker page matter more than the category name.

Sources

  1. Rep Fitness, Exercise Bands (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  2. Rep Fitness, Adjustable Dumbbells (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  3. Rep Fitness, Adjustable Weight Benches (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  4. Rep Fitness, Racks (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  5. Rep Fitness, Barbells (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  6. Rep Fitness, Functional Trainers and Cable Machines (collection page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  7. Rep Fitness, Arcadia Functional Trainer (product page), Rep Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  8. Tonal, Tonal 2 (product page), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  9. Speediance, Gym Monster 2 (product page), Speediance. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  10. Anytime Fitness, Membership (page stating that pricing varies by location), Anytime Fitness. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  11. Chutex Model I US product page, price, resistance range and mounting, Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026