Key facts
- Tonal’s page listed Tonal 2 for purchase at $4,295, with a 12-month membership commitment at $59.95 a month. 1
- Tonal lists resistance from 5 to 250 lb and says the unit is professionally mounted to a wall. 1
- Vitruvian’s product info lists a resistance range of 0 to 440 lb (0 to 200 kg) and a unit weight of 80 lb (38 kg). 5
- Vitruvian’s FAQ says the Trainer+ works out of the box with no installation, and quotes $39 a month after the initial membership period. 6
Tonal vs Vitruvian at a glance
Tonal and Vitruvian both sell home strength machines that use motors to supply the resistance and an app to run workouts. Tonal is mounted to a wall. Vitruvian’s Trainer+ stands on the floor. That difference shapes the rest of the table below.
Everything in the table comes from the makers’ own pages, read on October 16, 2026. Where a page did not state a figure, the cell says so, and where two pages disagreed, both figures are given. No price from a retailer, review or forum is used.
| Tonal 2 | Vitruvian Trainer+ | Chutex Model I | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price of the machine | $4,295 for purchase on the Tonal 2 page. Accessory bundles: Essentials $495, Ultimate $595.1 | No Trainer+ price on the official pages read. The store listed a Pro Kit of accessories at $590, sold out.58 | Shown in the Model I box on this page.10 |
| Subscription | Membership required for the first 12 months, $59.95 a month plus tax.12 | The FAQ quotes $39 a month after the initial period.6 | Not listed here. See the product page.10 |
| Included membership | None. Every purchase carries a 12-month commitment, counted from installation.23 | 3 months per the FAQ and app page. A support page says 30 days.697 | Not applicable. |
| Without a membership | After 12 months you can keep lifting but lose the workout library and personalization, such as progress tracking and weight suggestions.2 | The unit still runs. You can set the weight and train with adaptive digital weight, but premium features are limited.7 | Not stated here. |
| Maximum load | “Up to 250 lbs”, starting at 5 lb.1 | Range 0 to 440 lb (200 kg).5 The FAQ also gives a per-handle limit of about 100 kg.6 | Motorized resistance from 4.4 to 110 lb (2 to 50 kg).10 |
| Mounting | Wall-mounted. Tonal says it is installed professionally, like a TV wall mount.1 | Floor-standing. The FAQ says it works out of the box, with no installation, and is stored upright.6 | Wall-mounted cable machine. Needs a load-bearing wall.10 |
| Space | 7 ft of unobstructed wall, 7 ft by 7 ft of floor and 7 ft 10 in of ceiling height.1 | Unit size 46.1 by 20.5 by 4.5 in (1170 by 520 by 115 mm), converted from the page’s millimeters.5 | See the product page.10 |
| Unit weight | Nearly 150 lb, per Tonal’s FAQ.3 | 80 lb (38 kg) on the product info page. The FAQ says about 65 lb (30 kg).56 | Not stated here. |
| Delivery and setup | The FAQ lists $295 for standard delivery and installation.3 | Shipping terms not read on the pages visited. | Free shipping to the US, per the Model I box. |
All cells are the makers’ own statements. A blank or “not stated” cell means the page read did not give the figure. Prices exclude tax. Vitruvian’s FAQ is undated, and two Vitruvian pages disagree on the included membership period.
What it costs in year one, with the arithmetic
A sticker price is only part of the cost. The Tonal membership is part of buying it, so year one can be worked out from the figures above. Tax and any delivery fee come on top.
| Line | Calculation | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Tonal 2 purchase price | Listed on Tonal’s page1 | $4,295.00 |
| Membership, first 12 months | 12 × $59.952 | $719.40 |
| Total before tax and delivery | $4,295.00 + $719.40 | $5,014.40 |
| Standard delivery and installation, if charged | Listed as $295 on Tonal’s FAQ3 | $295.00 |
| Total with that fee | $5,014.40 + $295.00 | $5,309.40 |
Tonal’s FAQ and product page present delivery and installation differently, so check at checkout whether the fee is already in your price. Tonal also lists a rental plan, $279 a month plus a $49 setup fee, valid through November 1, 2026 and subject to credit approval. It is not rent-to-own.4
For Vitruvian, the Trainer+ price could not be read on the official pages on October 16, 2026, so no year-one total is given. The store’s own text at the time was “#STRONGER IS COMING”, and the listed Trainer+ entry was a placeholder.8 Check the maker’s checkout for the current price.
What can be computed is the membership. If the FAQ’s $39 a month applies after a 3-month inclusion, months 4 to 12 cost 9 × $39 = $351. If the support page’s 30-day inclusion applies, months 2 to 12 cost 11 × $39 = $429. A full year after the inclusion period is 12 × $39 = $468.679
The Vitruvian support page adds that the membership is included in the upfront purchase price of the Trainer+, that the unit still works without one, and that you then lose premium features and new features as they are released.7
What “maximum load” means on each page
The two makers publish different kinds of numbers, so a bigger figure does not mean a stronger machine for you. Tonal’s page gives one ceiling: up to 250 lb, starting at 5 lb.1 Vitruvian’s product info page gives a resistance range of 0 to 440 lb (200 kg) and does not say whether that is per cable or in total.5
Vitruvian’s FAQ is more specific. It gives “Trainer+: ~100kgs” per handle and describes the cap as a thermal load constraint.6 A simple conversion of 100 kg is about 220 lb, which is the figure to compare with a single-handle lift. The FAQ also says the machine holds a 330 lb (150 kg) person on it, which is a different question from resistance.6
Arithmetic shows how far apart the stated figures sit. Model I’s 110 lb is 44% of Tonal’s 250 lb (110 ÷ 250). It is half of the roughly 220 lb Vitruvian per-handle cap (110 ÷ 220). Without a test of how each machine measures its load, these ratios describe the labels, not the experience of lifting.
Whether a ceiling matters depends on the exercise and on you. Resistance that is too low for a lower-body movement limits progress. Resistance that starts too high is hard to use for light, small-muscle moves. The guide on progressive overload explains how load needs to rise over time.
Space, mounting and moving house
Tonal’s page says the unit is professionally mounted to your wall, like a TV wall mount, and lists the room it needs: 7 ft of unobstructed wall, 7 ft by 7 ft of floor and a ceiling height of 7 ft 10 in. It also lists Wi-Fi and a 3-prong outlet within 6 ft.1 Tonal’s FAQ says that for studs more than 16 inches apart, up to 24 inches, wide mount bars are used, and that installation by Tonal’s professionals is important for safety.3
Vitruvian’s FAQ describes a different setup. It says the machine works straight out of the box, is stored upright, can be moved on its wheels and handle, and draws up to 1,000 watts.6 The pages read do not mention wall mounting for the Trainer+.
Chutex Model I is also wall-mounted and needs a load-bearing wall.10 If you rent, or if your walls are not suitable, a floor-standing machine may be the only one that fits your home. If you own, compare the wall requirements of both wall-mounted options with your own room.
For the broader picture of equipment, see the guide to home gym equipment, the explainer on the home gym cable machine, and the overview of the best smart home gym options. For pulley exercises you can do on a wall unit, see wall pulley exercises.
Which fits whom? Situations, not a ranking
No score or ranking appears on this page. The table below maps stated facts to situations so you can see what to check.
| If this is you | What the facts above point to | What to check first |
|---|---|---|
| You rent and cannot drill into walls | Vitruvian’s FAQ says the Trainer+ needs no installation.6 | The current Trainer+ price, and whether your floor has room to use it. |
| You own your home and have a clear wall | Tonal is wall-mounted and installed by the maker.13 | The wall space and ceiling height Tonal lists, and the delivery fee. |
| You want to see the full yearly cost up front | Tonal’s first-year total can be computed from its pages.12 | Whether you will still want the membership after month 12. |
| You want to keep the machine running without a subscription | Both makers say the machine still works without a membership, with fewer features.27 | Which features you would lose, such as progress tracking. |
| You want a low starting load for small-muscle work | Model I starts at 4.4 lb, Tonal at 5 lb.101 | How each machine adjusts in small steps. This page did not read step sizes for every machine. |
| You want a wall cable machine from Chutex | Model I is wall-mounted with motorized resistance up to 110 lb.10 | A load-bearing wall and the price in the Model I box. |
Not a ranking. Each row is a pointer to facts you can check on the makers’ pages. Read dates: October 16, 2026.
If you are brand new to lifting, the load ceiling matters less than learning the movements. See the guide on how to start strength training before you spend. If you want to compare a cable machine with dumbbells and barbells instead, see cable machine vs free weights.
Questions to ask before you buy any of them
- What is the checkout price today, with tax and delivery? Prices on a maker’s site change, and this page is dated October 16, 2026.
- What happens to the machine if you stop paying the membership? Tonal and Vitruvian both describe a reduced feature set.27
- How long is the return window, and when does it start? Tonal’s FAQ gives 30 days from installation for a return and refund.3
- Can your wall hold the unit, and who installs it? Tonal installs its own units, and Model I needs a load-bearing wall.310
- How much load do you need in a year? Compare your current lifts with the ceiling in lb, as the makers define it.
- Do you need coaching or just resistance? Tonal’s page mentions coaches and personalized training as part of membership.4
Frequently asked questions
Tonal vs Vitruvian: which is better?
This page does not rank them. The facts that differ are the price and membership, the load figures, and the setup: Tonal is wall-mounted and installed by the maker, while the Vitruvian FAQ says the Trainer+ needs no installation. Your wall, budget and the load you need decide.
Does Tonal require a subscription?
Tonal’s membership page says a membership is required for the first 12 months, at $59.95 a month plus tax. After that you can keep using the machine without it, with the workout library and personalization removed.
Does Vitruvian require a membership?
Vitruvian’s support page says the Trainer+ still works without an active membership, but you lose premium features and new features as they are released. The FAQ quotes $39 a month after the initial period.
How much weight can Tonal handle?
Tonal’s page states resistance up to 250 lb, starting at 5 lb. Tonal’s FAQ says the unit weighs nearly 150 lb and must be professionally installed.
How much resistance does the Vitruvian Trainer+ offer?
The product info page lists a resistance range of 0 to 440 lb (0 to 200 kg). The FAQ gives about 100 kg per handle, which is roughly 220 lb by simple conversion.
Can the Vitruvian Trainer+ be wall-mounted?
The pages read do not mention wall mounting. The FAQ says the machine works out of the box with no installation and can be stored upright and moved on its wheels.
How does Chutex Model I compare with Tonal and Vitruvian?
Model I is a wall-mounted cable machine with motorized resistance from 4.4 to 110 lb, which sits below the maximum figures both makers list. It also needs a load-bearing wall. This page does not rank the three.
Sources
- Tonal, Tonal 2 product page (purchase price, bundles, membership, specifications), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Tonal, Membership page ($59.95 a month, 12-month commitment, use without membership), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Tonal, FAQ (weight, installation, delivery fees, 30-day return), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Tonal, home page (rental offer valid through November 1, 2026, membership features), Tonal. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Vitruvian, Product info (resistance range, size, weight, membership), Vitruvian. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Vitruvian, FAQs (per-handle limit, setup, membership price, undated), Vitruvian. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Vitruvian, All Access Membership support article (30 days included, use without membership), Vitruvian. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Vitruvian, store pages (Pro Kit $590 sold out; Trainer+ price not listed), Vitruvian. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Vitruvian, Trainer+ Smart V App page (three months of All Access included), Vitruvian. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Model I US product page, specifications, Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026