Key facts
- Withings Body Comp was listed at $229.95 on the official US store on October 16, 2026. 1
- The RENPHO Elis 1 was listed at $24.99 and announces 13 body metrics. 3
- The RENPHO MorphoScan was listed at $179.99, with a sale price of $169.99, and uses 8 electrodes. 4
- Withings says its scale cannot be set up from a computer, and its optional Withings+ plan costs $99.50 a year after a free month. 1
- Under standardized conditions, day-to-day variation of body impedance in one study was 2.8 percent. 6
Withings vs Renpho at a glance
Withings and RENPHO both sell smart scales that send a weak electrical current through your feet and estimate body composition from how easily it flows. That is where the similarity ends. The two brands sit at very different price points, and each sells several models, so “Withings vs Renpho” is really a question about which model, which app and which fees.
This page compares the Withings Body Comp with two RENPHO scales, the Elis 1 and the MorphoScan, using only what the manufacturers publish on their own pages. Every price and feature below was read on October 16, 2026. Prices change, so check the store before you buy.134
There is no score and no ranking here. A scale that suits a household that wants a low price and a simple weight trend is not the scale that suits someone who wants many users and heart-related extras. The sections below give the facts, then the criteria, then who each option suits.
Side-by-side table, read on October 16, 2026
Each cell comes from the manufacturer’s own page, and the number in brackets points to it. Where a page does not say something, the cell says so instead of guessing. Silence on a page is not the same as “no”: a page that does not mention electrodes may simply not list them.
| Withings Body Comp | RENPHO Elis 1 | RENPHO MorphoScan | Chutex Vita | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price on the store page | $229.951 | $24.993 | $179.99, sale price $169.994 | Shown in the Vita box on this page8 |
| Method | Bioelectrical impedance, described as multi-frequency1 | Bioelectrical impedance; electrodes not stated3 | 8 electrodes; the page lists 20 kHz and 100 kHz measurements4 | Wi-Fi scale with 8 electrodes8 |
| Body metrics announced | Body fat, total body water, muscle mass, bone mass, visceral fat, basal metabolic rate; also standing heart rate, vascular age and an electrodermal activity score1 | 13: weight, BMI, body fat, body water, skeletal muscle, fat-free body weight, muscle mass, bone mass, protein, BMR, subcutaneous fat, visceral fat, metabolic age3 | Listed as 50 or more metrics, including body water, visceral fat grade, BMR and metabolic age4 | Check the Vita product page for the metric list8 |
| Connection | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth1 | Bluetooth; Wi-Fi not mentioned3 | Not named on the page4 | Wi-Fi8 |
| App | Withings App, iOS 18 or later, Android 12 or later1 | RENPHO Health App3 | MorphoScan app4 | See the product page8 |
| Users | Up to 8, recognized automatically1 | Unlimited profiles in the app3 | Not stated4 | See the product page8 |
| Power | 4 AAA cells, about 15 months on average1 | 3 AAA batteries3 | Not stated4 | See the product page8 |
| Paid plan | Optional Withings+, 1 month free, then $99.50 a year; the page says your data stays free1 | None mentioned on the page3 | None mentioned on the page4 | See the product page8 |
| Pacemaker or implant | Do not use with a pacemaker, ICD or other implanted electronic device2 | Weigh only if you have a pacemaker or are pregnant3 | Weigh only if you have a pacemaker, other implant or are pregnant4 | Not for people with a pacemaker or other implanted electronic device8 |
| Stated purpose | Wellness and weight management; the guide says it is for adults2 | Daily use at home, not for medical purposes3 | Used with the MorphoScan app; the page also gives a pacemaker warning4 | Wellness product; readings are estimates for tracking trends8 |
Sources: Withings product page and US user guide12; RENPHO product pages34; Chutex product page8. Vita details beyond electrodes and Wi-Fi are on the Vita page, not repeated here so they stay in one place.
Two things stand out. First, the Withings Body Comp is priced about nine times higher than the Elis 1 on the same day, and the Withings page adds heart-related extras, a color screen, Wi-Fi and up to 8 users, while both rely on the same basic method of passing current through the feet.13 Second, RENPHO’s own range stretches from $24.99 to $179.99 in the pages read, so the brand name alone tells you little about which model you are comparing.34
Metrics: what each brand says its scale reports
Withings keeps its list short. The product page names body fat, total body water, muscle mass, bone mass, visceral fat and basal metabolic rate, and adds standing heart rate, vascular age and an electrodermal activity score.1 Its US user guide describes the scale as a wellness product that measures weight, calculates BMI, measures pulse rate and estimates vascular age, and adds that the body composition readings are intended for weight management and for maintaining healthy levels of muscle, bone and fat mass in adults.2
RENPHO lists many more numbers. The Elis 1 page announces 13 metrics, including skeletal muscle and muscle mass as two separate entries, plus protein, subcutaneous fat and metabolic age.3 The MorphoScan page claims 50 or more metrics and names, among others, a waist-hip ratio and a body type label.4
A longer list is not the same as more information. Most of these figures are derived from the same electrical measurement plus the age, height and sex you type into the app. The derived values can look precise while resting on assumptions. Two of them get a full explanation on separate pages: visceral fat and muscle mass. For the difference between the water and muscle numbers, see the guide to body water percentage.
If you want to know what “metabolic age” means before you let it drive a decision, read the guide to metabolic age. It is a manufacturer-defined number, not a medical measurement.
App, accounts and subscription
The scale is only half of the product. The app stores the history, draws the trends and sets how many people can use the scale.
- Withings: the page says the scale connects over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, supports up to 8 users and cannot be set up from a computer, so you need a supported phone.1 The data is described as free. Withings+ is an optional plan with one free month, then $99.50 a year.1
- RENPHO Elis 1: the RENPHO Health App is described as free, with unlimited profiles and automatic user recognition. The page mentions no paid tier.3
- RENPHO MorphoScan: the page says the scale must be used with the MorphoScan app and says the RENPHO Health App is free to download. It mentions no paid tier.4
“Mentions no paid tier” describes what the page says on the reading date. It is not a promise that the app will stay free. If an app-only fee would change your decision, look at the app’s store listing and the manufacturer’s terms before you buy.
Also check what happens to your data. Smart scales store body measurements, which are personal health information. Read the brand’s privacy notice and note whether you can export or delete your history.
How accurate are impedance scales, and what can a brand comparison tell you?
The honest answer is that this page cannot rank the brands for accuracy, and no source read for it can either. None of the studies read here tested these particular Withings or RENPHO models against a reference method, so any number that says one is “more accurate” would be invented.
What the literature does show is the general pattern for impedance. Under standardized conditions (in the morning, fasting, after emptying the bladder), one study found a day-to-day variation of 2.8 percent in body impedance, and a meal, strenuous exercise or a drink could shift the reading.6 A 2025 study of 1,000 healthy adults compared a clinical multi-frequency device with a DXA scan. It found strong correlation but a consistent bias: the device read body fat percentage about 4.2 points lower in men and 2.8 points lower in women, and it was weakest for visceral fat.7 That was a professional device, not a home scale, so treat it as a sign of the general limits of the method rather than a verdict on any brand.
Two practical conclusions follow. First, the trend on one scale, measured under the same conditions, is more useful than a number compared across scales. Second, if you want a number you can lean on, a scan in a clinic is the benchmark. The guide to DEXA scans vs smart scales sets out the difference, and are smart scales accurate goes through the error sources one by one.
How to choose: six buying criteria
- Budget, all-in
- Add the scale price and any yearly plan. Withings’ optional plan adds $99.50 a year once the free month ends.1 A $24.99 scale with a free app and a $229.95 scale with an optional plan are different bets on how much you will use the extras.
- Users
- Withings lists up to 8 users.1 RENPHO’s Elis 1 lists unlimited profiles in the app.3 If several people share the scale, check how user recognition works, because a reading assigned to the wrong person corrupts both histories.
- Metrics you will act on
- Pick the scale that reports the numbers you will actually track. A shorter list from a brand that explains it can be more useful than 50 numbers you never open.
- Connection and setup
- Withings and the Vita list Wi-Fi.18 The Withings page says the scale stores up to 16 readings if it cannot sync wirelessly, and the RENPHO Elis 1 page mentions Bluetooth only.13 Check how each model syncs before you choose.
- Health conditions
- Every manufacturer read here warns against body-composition scanning with a pacemaker or similar implant, and the Withings guide notes that accuracy may be affected in pregnancy.234 If either applies, ask your clinician before you step on.
- Software support
- Check the phone versions the app supports. The Withings page names iOS 18 or later and Android 12 or later.1 An older phone may not run a current app.
The Chutex Vita appears in the table for completeness. It is a Wi-Fi scale with 8 electrodes.8 Like every scale here, it gives estimates for tracking trends at home and does not diagnose or treat anything.
Who each option suits
| If this is you | What the facts above point to | What to check first |
|---|---|---|
| You want a weight trend and a rough body fat figure for the lowest price | The RENPHO Elis 1 at $24.99 announces 13 metrics and a free app.3 | Whether Bluetooth-only syncing suits your routine; the page does not name electrodes. |
| You want more electrodes for the money and a long metric list | The RENPHO MorphoScan lists 8 electrodes and 50 or more metrics.4 | The sale price may change; the page does not state users or battery. |
| You want Wi-Fi sync, up to 8 users and heart-related extras | The Withings Body Comp lists these at $229.95.1 | Whether you want the optional $99.50 a year plan, and whether your phone is supported. |
| You want a Wi-Fi scale with 8 electrodes from Chutex | The Vita is a Wi-Fi scale with 8 electrodes.8 | The details on the product page, including price and the pacemaker restriction. |
| You have a pacemaker or another implant | Every manufacturer read warns against scanning.2348 | Ask your clinician before using any impedance scale. |
This is not a ranking. It maps stated facts to situations. Read dates: October 16, 2026.
If you want to go deeper into the category before you pick, the guide to the best smart scales for body composition explains how to evaluate any model, and how to measure body fat at home gives a repeatable weigh-in routine.
A weigh-in routine that works on any scale
Whatever you buy, the numbers are only comparable if the conditions are. RENPHO’s own FAQ advises weighing at the same time each day, such as the morning, and says body measurements may not be accurate after heavy physical activity.5 It also says to stand barefoot on dry feet with both feet on the electrode plates, to place the scale on a hard, flat surface because carpet can cause inaccuracies, and to stay still for about 10 seconds.5 The Withings guide likewise tells you to step on with bare feet and says not to step on with wet feet.2
RENPHO adds that it is more important to watch overall trends than the absolute value of a single measurement.5 That advice holds for every brand. It also explains why switching scales mid-way resets your baseline: the new scale has its own equations, so start a new trend line instead of comparing across devices.
Frequently asked questions
Is Withings or Renpho better?
Neither wins on every point, and this page does not rank them. On October 16, 2026 the Withings Body Comp cost $229.95 and listed Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and up to 8 users, while the RENPHO Elis 1 cost $24.99 and listed 13 metrics with a free app. Choose by budget, users, metrics and phone support.
Do Withings or Renpho scales need a subscription?
Withings sells an optional Withings+ plan, with one free month and then $99.50 a year, and says your data stays free. The RENPHO pages read mention no paid tier. Check the app store listing again before you buy, because plans change.
Why is body composition not working on my Withings scale?
The Withings guide says to step on with bare feet that are clean and well placed on the electrodes. If the scale did not recognize you, the reading may land under Unknown Measurements in the app, and you assign it to your user. The guide also warns that body composition should not be used with a pacemaker or other implanted electronic device, and that pregnancy may affect accuracy.
What is the difference between skeletal muscle and muscle mass on a Renpho scale?
The RENPHO Elis 1 page lists skeletal muscle and muscle mass as two separate metrics but does not explain the difference on the page read. Check the in-app help, and see our guide to muscle mass for how impedance scales estimate it.
How accurate are Withings and Renpho scales for body fat?
The sources read for this page do not test these models against a reference method, so no accuracy figure is given. A study of a clinical multi-frequency device found it read body fat about 4.2 points lower than DXA in men and 2.8 points lower in women. Use home scales for trends, not single values.
Can I use a smart scale with a pacemaker?
The Withings guide says not to use the device with a cardiac pacemaker, an ICD or another implanted electronic device. RENPHO says people with a pacemaker should use the scale for weighing only. Ask your clinician.
How do I compare readings between two scales?
Do not compare numbers across scales. Each uses its own equations and inputs. Use one scale under the same conditions, and read the trend over weeks.
Sources
- Withings, Body Comp White product page (price, metrics, Withings+ plan, specifications), Withings. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Withings, Body Comp product guide, EN-US regions section (intended use, warnings, specifications), Withings. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- RENPHO, Elis 1 Smart Body Scale product page, RENPHO. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- RENPHO, MorphoScan Smart Body Scale product page, RENPHO. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- RENPHO, FAQ for the RENPHO Health App (measurement tips), RENPHO. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Deurenberg P, Weststrate JA, Paymans I, van der Kooy K. Factors affecting bioelectrical impedance measurements in humans. Eur J Clin Nutr. 1988;42(12):1017-22, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Potter AW, Ward LC, Chapman CL, et al. Real-world assessment of multi-frequency bioelectrical impedance analysis for measuring body composition in healthy physically active populations. Eur J Clin Nutr. 2025;79(12):1235-1244, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Vita US product page, kind and electrodes, Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026