Key facts
- FDA says wellness, sports and aviation pulse oximeters are not reviewed or evaluated by the agency before sale. 3
- FDA has not authorized, cleared or approved any smartwatch or smart ring that measures blood glucose. 2
- A review of 29 studies found REM and deep sleep estimates from consumer devices particularly unreliable. 7
- NCCIH reports no conclusive evidence that static magnets help any form of pain. 5
- Over three years, total cost is the purchase price plus 36 times any monthly subscription. 12
What is a smart band, and what is a health bracelet?
Both names describe the same idea. A wrist-worn device carries sensors, records signals such as motion and pulse, and sends them to a phone app. “Smart band” and “health wristband” usually mean a slim band built around measurement. “Health bracelet” is a common everyday name for the same device.
No institution we read defines “smart band” as a category, so this guide uses the plain meaning above. What the institutions do describe is the claims such products can make. The FDA’s January 2026 General Wellness guidance gives examples of wellness claims, including products that help log, track or trend exercise activity and measure aerobic fitness.1 It also names tracking sleep trends as a wellness claim.1
The same guidance draws a line. A product is not covered by the wellness policy if it claims clinical equivalence, clinical accuracy, or medical or clinical grade.1 Inclusion in the policy also does not establish that a product has been shown to be safe or effective.1 Keep both points in mind when you read a product page.
Smart band, smartwatch, ring or chest strap: how do they differ?
The table lists the four common wearable types. We only fill a cell when we read a source for it. Where we did not, it says “Variable” or “Not stated”, because screens, battery life and subscription terms differ from one model to the next.
| Type | Display | Typical sensors | Battery life | Subscription |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Screenless health band (example: Elio) | None12 | Heart rate, HRV, SpO2, skin temperature, sleep, activity12 | 15 days, magnetic recharge12 | None, one-time purchase12 |
| Smartwatch | Variable | Variable. Wrist optical heart-rate accuracy can differ by skin tone, and the evidence is inconclusive6 | Variable | Variable |
| Smart ring | Variable | Variable | Variable | Variable |
| Chest strap | Variable | Heart rate; strong correlation with a reference at rest and in light to moderate activity9 | Variable | Variable |
Only the Elio row comes from a manufacturer page, read on the date shown. For model-by-model comparisons see best fitness trackers and smart ring vs fitness band.
The practical difference is focus. A smartwatch adds a display, notifications and apps. A band without a screen leaves those out and concentrates on measurement. A chest strap sits closer to the heart and sits closer to the heart, and the review cited below validated chest straps against ECG; for the trade-offs, read wrist vs chest strap heart rate.
A systematic review of 32 chest-strap studies found strong correlations with ECG at rest and in light to moderate activity, with limits from motion artifacts, strap placement and sweat.9 It also noted discomfort during prolonged wear, and that none of the studied devices had CE or FDA approval for clinical use.9
What does a health bracelet actually measure?
Each sensor answers a narrow question and has its own weak spot. This section covers the signals most bands report, with the limits found in the sources we read.
| Signal | What the evidence says | Limit to remember |
|---|---|---|
| Heart rate at the wrist | A systematic review of 10 studies (469 participants) looked at wrist-worn accuracy across skin tones.6 | Four studies reported significantly lower accuracy in darker-skinned people, four found no effect and two were mixed. The evidence is inconclusive.6 |
| Sleep | Consumer sleep devices may support general monitoring, especially duration and circadian timing.7 | Total sleep time is moderately accurate. REM and deep sleep estimates were particularly unreliable.7 |
| Blood oxygen (SpO2) | FDA lists factors that affect a pulse oximeter reading.3 | Poor circulation, skin pigmentation, skin temperature, tobacco use and nail polish can all affect accuracy.3 |
| Calories burned | A meta-analysis of 60 studies compared wrist and arm-worn monitors with a reference.8 | Accuracy differs by activity type. Adding heart rate or heat sensing to motion sensing decreased the error in most activity types.8 |
| Blood sugar | No FDA-authorized smartwatch or smart ring measures blood glucose.2 | FDA has not authorized, cleared or approved any smartwatch or smart ring that measures blood glucose.2 |
Review articles were read as PubMed abstracts and FDA pages 2, 3 and 4 as page summaries on October 16, 2026. They show ranges and disagreements, not a single accuracy figure for any brand.
Heart rate and skin tone
The review on skin tone is careful about what it can claim. Of the 10 studies, four reported a significant reduction in wrist heart-rate accuracy for darker-skinned participants, four reported no effect, and two were mixed.6 The honest reading is that the question is open. If you have darker skin, compare your band against a manual pulse check now and then. For what a typical pulse looks like, see normal resting heart rate.
Sleep
A 2026 rapid review of 29 studies reached a split verdict. Consumer devices were moderately accurate for total sleep time, less so for stages, and the review called REM and deep sleep estimates particularly unreliable.7 So the total on your band is worth watching, while the stage minutes are rough. The guides to sleep stages and sleep score explain how to read both.
Blood oxygen
FDA’s consumer page on pulse oximeters says wellness, sports and aviation oximeters are not reviewed or evaluated by the agency before they reach the public.3 Skin pigmentation and skin temperature are among the factors that can change a reading.3 A neurology review from 2026 also flags racial bias in pulse oximetry.10 Use a wrist SpO2 figure as a trend, and see normal blood oxygen levels for the context.
Calories
Calorie counts are estimates. In a meta-analysis of 60 studies, energy-expenditure estimates from wrist and arm-worn devices differed in accuracy depending on the activity.8 Do not eat to a band’s number as if it were a lab result.
Screenless or with a display: which suits you?
A screenless band leaves out the display, so nothing lights up on your wrist and you read everything in the app. A display shows the time, notifications and live numbers without picking up your phone. Neither is better in general. The question is whether you want a watch or a quiet sensor.
- Choose a screenless band if you want to wear a sensor day and night without a second screen competing for attention.
- Choose a display if you want live numbers during workouts or want to read the time and messages from your wrist.
- Choose a chest strap if you want a sensor placed closer to the heart for hard exercise and do not mind wearing it only for workouts.
Elio, the band Chutex makes, is a screenless wellness band. Its product page describes it as French-designed and says it tracks sleep, recovery, HRV and activity trends.12 Because it is not a watch, it does not replace one.
How to choose a health bracelet: seven questions
Answer these in order. Each question points to one thing to check on a product page. We only attach a fact where we read one.
- Battery. How many days between charges, and how does it charge? Elio states 15 days and a magnetic recharge.12 For other models, read the maker’s page.
- Subscription. Does the app lock features behind a monthly fee? Elio’s page says it is a one-time purchase with no subscription.12 See best fitness tracker without subscription for a longer look.
- Comfort. Can you sleep in it? The chest-strap review noted discomfort during prolonged wear, so try the fit before you commit to wearing something all night.9
- Water resistance. Look for a stated rating. Elio’s page says it is waterproof and can be worn in the shower and during sport, but it gives no rating such as IP67, so the rating is Not stated.12
- App. Is it clear and does it explain its numbers? We did not read a source on app quality, so judge this yourself.
- Data export. Can you take your data out? Elio’s page says the Chutex app generates weekly and monthly summaries exportable as PDF.12 Check the format and what is exported for any other band.
- Skin. Do you react to straps or adhesives? We did not read a source on this, so check the material list and the return terms.
If you answer “screenless, no subscription, wear it overnight,” you have a profile, not a ranking. Any band that fits it is worth reading about, and we do not rank brands here.
How much does a health bracelet cost over three years?
A sticker price hides the monthly fee. The formula is simple: total cost over 36 months equals the purchase price plus 36 times the monthly subscription. The first table applies it to Elio, using the price shown on its US page on October 16, 2026. The second uses made-up numbers to show how a subscription changes the result.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Purchase price, one time | $264 |
| Subscription, 36 months | $0 (none) |
| Total over three years | $264 |
| Average per month | $7.33 |
Arithmetic: 264 + 0 × 36 = 264; 264 ÷ 36 = 7.33. Price before tax as shown on the page;12 check the page on the day you buy.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Purchase price (made-up) | $100 |
| Subscription (made-up), $8 a month for 36 months | $288 |
| Total over three years | $388 |
| Difference from the $264 above | $124 |
Arithmetic: 100 + 8 × 36 = 388; 388 − 264 = 124. These numbers are invented to show the formula and say nothing about any brand.
Use the formula with real prices from any maker’s page. A low sticker price with a monthly fee can cost more than a higher one-time price by the third year.
What can a wellness band not do?
A wellness band shows trends in the signals above. It does not diagnose, treat or monitor a disease. FDA’s wellness guidance says blood pressure monitors and blood glucose measuring devices are not general wellness products when intended for clinical purposes.1
A Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine review notes that physicians will increasingly be asked to interpret data from nonmedical-grade consumer devices.11 If you bring band data to an appointment, present it as context. Do not present it as a result.
Magnetic bracelets: what does the evidence say?
A magnetic bracelet is a different product from a smart band: it holds static magnets and has no sensors and no app, and the NIH’s National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health found no conclusive evidence that static magnets relieve any form of pain.5 The full evidence review, with the NIH and FDA safety points, is in Magnetic health bracelet benefits: what the evidence says.
One safety point does concern smart bands: many charge with a magnetic cable, and the FDA says consumer electronics with high-field-strength magnets should be kept at least six inches (15 centimeters) from implanted medical devices.4 Elio’s page says it recharges magnetically.12 It does not address implanted medical devices (Not stated), so if you have a pacemaker or similar device, ask your clinician before using any magnetic charger or magnet-containing product.
Wearing it day and night: fit, skin and charging
We read no institutional source on skin care, fit or charging routines, so this section is limited to what the sources and the product page support.
- Fit matters for accuracy. The chest-strap review lists strap placement and sweat among the limits on accuracy.9 The same logic applies to a wrist band that slides.
- Comfort matters for consistency. Discomfort during prolonged wear was noted in the strap review,9 and a band you take off will not record the night.
- Charging should fit a routine. A 15-day battery, as Elio states,12 means you charge it a couple of times a month rather than every night.
- Look at the pattern, not the day. Compare weeks. A single odd night or morning says little. See how to improve HRV for what to watch over time.
If the skin under the band becomes red, itchy or sore, take the band off and stop wearing it until it clears. Persistent skin problems are a reason to talk to a health professional.
Frequently asked questions
What is a smart band?
A smart band is a wrist-worn device that records activity and body signals such as pulse and sleep, then syncs them to a phone app. No institution we read defines the term, so we use the plain meaning. It is usually built around measurement rather than apps.
What is the difference between a smart band and a smartwatch?
A smartwatch adds a display, notifications and apps. A smart band concentrates on measurement and often has no screen. Both are wrist-worn, and battery life, display and subscription terms vary by model.
Do health bracelets really work?
Their accuracy varies by signal. A 2026 review found consumer sleep devices moderately accurate for total sleep time, with REM and deep sleep estimates particularly unreliable.7 Calorie estimates vary by activity.8 They make no diagnoses. Use them to compare weeks, not to judge a single night.
Do magnetic bracelets work?
NCCIH, part of the NIH, says no conclusive evidence of effectiveness for any form of pain has been found for static magnets.5 It also warns that some magnets may interfere with devices such as pacemakers and insulin pumps.5
Do I need a subscription for a health wristband?
It depends on the model. Some bands lock features behind a monthly fee. Elio’s product page says it is a one-time purchase with no subscription.12 Add 36 times any monthly fee to the purchase price to see the three-year cost.
Can I wear a smart band in the shower or while sleeping?
It depends on the band’s water-resistance rating and comfort. Elio’s page says it is waterproof and can be worn in the shower and during sport, but it gives no rating such as IP67, so a rating is Not stated.12 Check the maker’s page for any band you consider.
Can a health bracelet measure blood sugar?
No. FDA says it has not authorized, cleared or approved any smartwatch or smart ring that measures blood glucose, and that these devices do not directly test blood glucose levels.2
Sources
- FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (guidance, issued January 6, 2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, Do Not Use Smartwatches or Smart Rings to Measure Blood Glucose Levels: Safety Communication (February 21, 2024), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, Pulse Oximeter Basics (content current as of March 26, 2025), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, Magnets in Cell Phones and Smart Watches May Affect Pacemakers and Other Implanted Medical Devices (May 13, 2021), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NCCIH, Magnets for Pain: What You Need To Know (last updated January 2023), National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Koerber D et al. Heart rate accuracy of wrist-worn wearables in various skin tones: systematic review. J Racial Ethn Health Disparities. 2023, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Landvatter et al. Real-world use of consumer sleep devices: a rapid review. Chest. 2026, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- O'Driscoll R et al. Activity monitors and energy expenditure: systematic review and meta-analysis. Br J Sports Med. 2020, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Machado et al. Chest-worn sensors in cardiac assessment: systematic review. Sensors. 2025, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Lee-Iannotti. Sleep diagnostics and monitoring technology in obstructive sleep apnea. Continuum. 2026, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Mohamoud et al. Consumer-grade wearable cardiac monitors. Cleve Clin J Med. 2024, PubMed. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Elio US product page, features and price, Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026