Key facts
- The CDC says adults need 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week, or 75 minutes of vigorous activity. 9
- Fitbit lists the Charge 6 at $159.95 with a 7-day battery, built-in GPS and 50 m water resistance. 1
- Polar lists the Loop at $199.99 with up to 8 days of battery and no built-in GPS. 6
- Apple lists the Apple Watch SE 3 from $229 with up to 18 hours of normal use. 5
- Adults are advised to sleep between 7 and 9 hours a night. 10
What is a fitness tracker, and how was this table built?
A fitness tracker is a wrist-worn device that counts movement and heart rate and sends them to a phone app. Some have a screen, like a small watch. Some have none and only show their data in the app. The word covers both, so this page looks at both.
This page reads the makers’ own US pages on October 16, 2026. Each value is followed by the number of its source. A value the page did not state is written as “not stated on the page read”. There is no ranking and no accuracy score, because the makers publish no comparable one. Prices are as listed that day, before tax, and they change.
WHOOP and Oura are left out of the table. Both are membership devices and have their own comparisons: Oura vs WHOOP, Oura Ring alternatives and WHOOP alternatives. If you want a ring, read the guide to best smart rings.
Elio, made by Chutex, is in the table with the facts from its own product page. It is a screenless wellness band.
| Device | Screen | Price | Battery | GPS | Water rating | Phone support |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazfit Helio Strap | None.7 | $99.99.7 | Up to 10 days.7 | Not stated on the page read.7 | 5 ATM; shallow-water swimming, not diving.7 | Android 7.0 or later, iOS 15.0 or later.7 |
| Fitbit Charge 6 | Color display.1 | $159.95.1 | 7 days.1 | Built in.1 | 50 m.1 | Most phones on Android 11 or iOS 16.4 or newer.1 |
| Polar Loop | None.6 | $199.99.6 | Up to 8 days.6 | None built in; uses phone GPS through the Polar Flow app.6 | WR30; suitable for swimming.6 | Links to the Apple App Store and Google Play; versions not stated.6 |
| Garmin CIRQA | None.3 | $199.99.3 | Up to 10 days.3 | Connected GPS (through the phone).3 | Swim, 5 ATM.3 | iPhone and Android.3 |
| Apple Watch SE 3 | A watch with a display; display details not stated on the page read.5 | Starting at $229.5 | Up to 18 hours of normal use; up to 32 hours in Low Power Mode.5 | Not stated on the page read.5 | 50 m.5 | iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later.5 |
| Samsung Galaxy Watch8 | 3000 nit display.4 | From $299.99 (40 mm); $329.99 (44 mm).4 | A Samsung reply on the page cites up to 30 hours with Always On Display.4 | Not stated on the page read.4 | Not stated on the page read.4 | Android 11.0 or later.4 |
| Elio (Chutex) | None.8 | $264, one-time.8 | 15 days.8 | Not stated on the page read.8 | Described as waterproof; no rating stated.8 | Bluetooth to the Chutex app; versions not stated.8 |
Prices are as listed on the day of reading, before tax, and can change. Battery numbers are each maker’s own, measured under its own conditions.
How much does each one cost, and what does a plan add?
The price on the box is not always the whole cost. Three of the pages read mention paid extras. Fitbit says the Charge 6 comes with 3 months of Google Health Premium, and marks some features, such as the readiness score, as available with Premium.1 Google lists the plan from $9.99, without a billing period on the line read.2 Garmin’s spec table marks Garmin Coach, the workout programs and manual laps as “Garmin Connect+ only”.3
The other pages say less. Amazfit says “No required subscription”.7 Polar says “No monthly fees”.6 Elio says it is a one-time purchase, no subscription.8 Apple’s page mentions a subscription only for Apple Music.5 Samsung’s page, as read, did not state a plan for the Watch8.4
Worked example: the plan you may not need
Suppose you buy the Fitbit Charge 6 at $159.95 and keep Premium after the 3 free months at the “from” price of $9.99. The plan page does not say whether $9.99 is monthly, so the arithmetic here is a check you make yourself: if it is monthly, one year of Premium adds 12 × $9.99 = $119.88, and the first-year total would be $159.95 + 9 × $9.99 = $249.86 after the free months. Confirm the billing period on Google’s page before you count it.12
For a full table of devices that bill once, see fitness trackers without a subscription.
Which tracker fits which use?
Start from what you will do with it. The table below links each use to the facts above. It is a decision aid, not a ranking.
| Your use | What to check on the page | Devices whose page states it |
|---|---|---|
| Run or walk outdoors and want pace without a phone | Built-in GPS | Fitbit Charge 6 lists built-in GPS.1 Polar Loop and Garmin CIRQA use the phone’s GPS.36 |
| Swim | Water rating and what the maker says about swimming | Polar WR30, suitable for swimming.6 Garmin 5 ATM swim rating.3 Fitbit and Apple 50 m.15 Amazfit 5 ATM, shallow water.7 |
| Wear it at night for sleep trends | Screenless or not, and battery | Screenless bands: Amazfit, Polar, Garmin, Elio, with 8 to 15 days of battery.3678 |
| Charge rarely | Battery in days, not hours | Elio 15 days, Amazfit and Garmin up to 10, Polar up to 8, Fitbit 7.13678 |
| See the time and messages on the wrist | A display | Fitbit Charge 6 lists a color display and Galaxy Watch8 a 3000 nit display.14 |
| Use an iPhone | Phone support line | Apple requires an iPhone.5 Fitbit, Garmin, Amazfit list iOS.137 Samsung Watch8 lists Android only.4 |
| Keep cost low | Price and plan lines | Amazfit Helio Strap at $99.99, no required subscription.7 |
Each cell repeats what the page read states. A device not named for a use is not marked down: its page may simply not state it.
Battery in charges per month
Battery numbers are easier to feel as charges. Over 30 days, a battery of 7 days needs 30 ÷ 7 = about 4.3 charges. A battery of 8 days needs 3.75, of 10 days needs 3, and of 15 days needs 2. An Apple Watch SE at up to 18 hours a charge works out to 30 × 24 ÷ 18 = 40 charges if worn nonstop, so in practice it is charged about every day.135678 This is arithmetic on the listed maximums. Real use runs lower.
A tracker you forget to charge records nothing, so the battery line often matters more than a feature line.
What should a tracker show you, and what can it not do?
A tracker is useful when it makes one target visible. The CDC says adults need 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week, which can be 75 minutes of vigorous activity instead, and at least 2 days a week of muscle-strengthening activity.9 A tracker that totals active minutes lets you check the first number without guessing.
Example: a week of 30, 25, 40, 20 and 35 minutes of moderate activity adds up to 30 + 25 + 40 + 20 + 35 = 150 minutes. That meets the target. A week of 4 days at 30 minutes is 120 minutes, which leaves 30 to find.9 Check how your device labels intensity, because the target is stated by intensity level.
A tracker can also show a sleep trend. The NHLBI says experts recommend that adults sleep between 7 and 9 hours a night.10 Total time asleep is the steadiest number on most devices. Stage labels are estimates, because a sleep study uses sensors for brain activity and eye movements that a wrist device does not carry. See sleep stages explained and how sleep scores work.
What a tracker cannot do is test you for illness. The FDA’s general wellness guidance covers low risk products that promote a healthy lifestyle.11 Chutex describes Elio as a wellness band whose measurements are indicative, and says it is not FDA-cleared or FDA-evaluated.8 A reading that worries you belongs with a health professional.
To go deeper on what the numbers mean, read heart rate zones, wrist or chest strap heart rate and how readiness scores work. For sleep-first picks, see the best sleep trackers. For the shape question, see smart ring vs fitness band.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best fitness tracker?
There is no single best one. On the pages read, price runs from $99.99 to $299.99 and battery from 18 hours to 15 days. Choose by what you will do with it: GPS, swimming, screen, battery or phone support.
What is the best fitness tracker with a long battery life?
On the pages read, Elio lists 15 days, Amazfit Helio Strap and Garmin CIRQA up to 10 days, Polar Loop up to 8 days and Fitbit Charge 6 7 days. Apple Watch SE 3 lists up to 18 hours of normal use.
Which fitness tracker can I swim with?
Polar lists WR30 and calls the Loop suitable for swimming. Garmin lists a Swim 5 ATM rating for the CIRQA. Fitbit and Apple list 50 m. Amazfit lists 5 ATM for shallow-water swimming, not diving.
Is a fitness tracker the same as a smartwatch?
The words overlap. On the pages read, some devices have a display for time and messages, like the Galaxy Watch8, and some have none, like the Polar Loop and Garmin CIRQA. Check the screen line and the battery line.
Do I need a subscription for a fitness tracker?
Not always. Amazfit, Polar and Elio state none, and Garmin sells extras through Connect+. Fitbit includes 3 months of Google Health Premium and marks some features as Premium. Read the plan line before you buy.
How many minutes of activity should my tracker show?
The CDC says adults need 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week, or 75 minutes of vigorous activity, plus at least 2 days a week of muscle-strengthening activity.
Can a fitness tracker diagnose a health problem?
No. A wellness tracker gives estimates for trends. Only a health professional can diagnose. If a reading or a symptom worries you, talk to a clinician.
Sources
- Google Store, Fitbit Charge 6 (US page: price, battery, GPS, water resistance, phone support, Premium), Google, Fitbit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Google Store, Google Health Premium (US page: starting price), Google. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Garmin, CIRQA Smart Band (US page: price, specs, Connect+ only features), Garmin. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Samsung, Galaxy Watch8 (US page: price, display, Android requirement), Samsung. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Apple, Apple Watch SE (US page: price, battery, water resistance, iPhone requirement), Apple. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Polar, Loop (US page: price, battery, GPS, water rating, subscription), Polar. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Amazfit, Helio Strap (US page: price, battery, water rating, phone support, subscription), Amazfit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Elio US product page (price, battery, subscription, status), Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- CDC, Physical Activity Guidelines for Adults (page dated Dec. 20, 2023), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NHLBI, How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough? (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (content current 01/06/2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026