Chutex

Comparison

Best fitness trackers without a subscription: what each maker lists

Several fitness trackers list no required subscription: Amazfit Helio Strap at $99.99, Polar Loop at $199.99, Garmin CIRQA at $199.99, Elio at $264 and Ultrahuman Ring PRO at $479. Garmin and Fitbit also sell optional paid plans. Oura and WHOOP use memberships. Read each page’s terms before you buy.3458

Key facts

  • Amazfit lists the Helio Strap at $99.99 and says no subscription is required. 3
  • Polar calls the Loop subscription-free and lists it at $199.99. 1
  • Garmin lists the CIRQA Smart Band at $199.99 with no subscription required and an optional Garmin Connect+ plan. 2
  • The CDC says adults need 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week. 13

What does “no subscription” mean for a fitness tracker?

The phrase covers three different setups. In the first, the tracker and its app work fully for a single purchase price. In the second, the tracker works, but a paid plan unlocks extra features. In the third, the device is tied to a recurring membership. Makers use the same words for all three, so the page of each product matters more than the headline.

This page reads the makers’ own US pages on October 16, 2026 and sorts what each states into those three setups. A value the page did not state is left as “not stated on the page read”. It is a dated table, not a ranking: no accuracy score is invented, and no product is marked down. Elio, made by Chutex, is included with the facts from its product page.

Fitness trackers by billing setup. Read on 2026-10-16 from the makers’ US pages listed under Sources. Source numbers sit in each cell.
TrackerSetupPriceWhat the page says about plansBattery
Amazfit Helio StrapSingle price$99.99.3“No required subscription”; works with the Zepp app.3Up to 10 days.3
Polar LoopSingle price$199.99.1Subscription-free.1Up to 8 days.1
Garmin CIRQASingle price, optional plan$199.99.2No subscription required; an optional Garmin Connect+ plan adds live activities, coach plans, nutrition tracking and AI insights.2Up to 10 days.2
Elio (Chutex)Single price$264, one-time.8No subscription; the band, app, updates and the Aria coach are included.815 days.8
Ultrahuman Ring PROSingle price$479.4No recurring subscription fees for ring data.4Up to 15 days; about 12 days in Turbo Mode.4
Fitbit Charge 6Optional plan$159.95.5Some features, such as the Daily Readiness Score, are marked as available with Google Health Premium; 3 months included. Google lists the plan from $9.99, billing period not stated.56Up to 7 days.5
Withings Sleep (bed sensor)Optional plan$199.95.7“Your data stays free”; optional Withings+ at $99.50 a year, first month free.7No charging needed.7
Oura Ring 5MembershipNot stated on the page read.9$5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax; the ring and app still work without it, with much more limited insights.9Up to 6 to 9 days.10
WHOOPMembershipDevice included with the membership.11$199, $239 or $359 a year by tier.1114+ days.11
Samsung Galaxy RingNot statedFrom $299.99.12Not stated on the page read.12Up to 7 days; up to 6 days for smaller sizes.12

Prices are as listed on the day of reading, before tax, and can change. Oura’s ring price is not shown because the page served to our reader quoted euros. “Single price” means the page lists no required recurring fee, not that every feature is free forever.

A “no subscription” claim is about the maker’s current terms. Terms change. Screenshot the page before you buy, and keep the order confirmation.

How much does each cost over three years?

A one-time price looks high next to a monthly fee until you add the months. The chart and table below multiply the listed prices. They leave out the optional plans (Garmin Connect+, Google Health Premium, Withings+) and Oura’s ring, which was not priced in dollars on the page read.

Cost of ownership over three years from the listed prices, in dollarsBars: Amazfit Helio Strap 99.99, Fitbit Charge 6 159.95, Polar Loop 199.99, Garmin CIRQA 199.99, Elio 264, Ultrahuman Ring PRO 479, WHOOP One 597.Amazfit Helio Strap$99.99Fitbit Charge 6$159.95Polar Loop$199.99Garmin CIRQA$199.99Elio$264Ultrahuman Ring PRO$479WHOOP One3 × $199 = $597
Listed prices read 2026-10-16.12345811 Excludes optional plans and tax. Not a quality ranking.

A worked break-even

WHOOP One is listed at $199 a year with the device included.11 Elio is $264 once.8 After one year WHOOP One has cost $199, which is less than $264. After two years it has cost 2 × $199 = $398, which is more. The break-even sits at $264 ÷ $199 = about 1.33 years, or roughly 16 months. This compares prices only. The two have different features, and neither number says which fits you better.

Oura’s membership at $69.99 a year adds up to 3 × $69.99 = $209.97 over three years before the ring is counted.9 Without a dollar ring price on the page read, a full Oura total cannot be written here.

What the optional plans add

Garmin lists Connect+ features such as live activities, Garmin Coach plans, nutrition tracking and AI insights.2 Google marks the Daily Readiness Score as a Premium feature and includes three months with the Charge 6.5 Withings says your data stays free and Withings+ adds scoring and guidance.7 If a feature on your wish list sits behind a plan, count the plan in your total.

What should you check before buying?

Oura’s page is a useful example of the last question about plans. It says the ring and app still function without a membership, but the insights and personal data are much more limited, and that you can export your data as CSV even without one.9 That is a clear statement. When a page you read is vaguer, ask the maker before you pay.

Phone support differs. Samsung’s page says some features, such as Energy Score, need a compatible Samsung Galaxy AI phone and the Samsung Health app.12 Withings Sleep installs through the Health Mate app on iOS and Android, and cannot be set up from a computer.7 Elio needs a phone for setup and detailed review.8

For devices with built-in readiness and recovery scores, see how readiness scores work. For sleep-focused picks, see best sleep trackers. For shape, see a smart ring versus a fitness band.

What can a tracker help with, and what can it not?

A tracker can help you see whether you are meeting activity targets. The CDC says adults need 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week, which can also be 75 minutes of vigorous activity, and at least 2 days of muscle-strengthening activity each week.13 A tracker that counts minutes of activity and shows your heart rate zones can help you see where you stand.

Here is an example. Suppose a tracker logs 25, 30, 20, 35 and 40 minutes of moderate activity on five days. The sum is 150 minutes, which meets the 150 minute target. Check how your device labels intensity, because the CDC target is stated by intensity level.

It can show a sleep trend too. The NHLBI says adults should sleep between 7 and 9 hours a night.14 Devices with sleep tracking show time asleep, and the guides to sleep stages and sleep scores explain what the stage and score numbers mean.

What a tracker cannot do is test for disease. The FDA’s general wellness guidance covers low risk products that promote a healthy lifestyle, and separates them from products meant for disease care.15 Chutex describes Elio as a wellness band whose measurements are indicative, and says it is not FDA-cleared.8 If you have symptoms, see a health professional.

For the signal behind recovery metrics, see heart rate variability and the best HRV monitors.

Which no-subscription tracker fits whom?

Fit by situation, built from the tables above. These are decision aids, not rankings.
If you…Look at…Why
Want the lowest listed priceAmazfit Helio Strap$99.99, no required subscription.3
Want a screen on the wristFitbit Charge 6Color display; some features sit behind Google Health Premium.5
Want a quiet band for sleep and recoveryPolar Loop, Garmin CIRQA or ElioScreenless, no required plan, 8 to 15 days of battery.128
Prefer a ringUltrahuman Ring PRONo recurring fees listed, up to 15 days of battery.4
Do not want to wear anything in bedWithings SleepUnder-mattress sensor; optional plan.7
Want to avoid another billAny in the “single price” setupCount the optional plans before you decide.12348

Choose the device you will wear every day. Features behind a plan are only worth counting if you will use them.

Looking for other brands? The guides to Oura Ring alternatives and WHOOP alternatives list substitutes, and Oura vs WHOOP compares the two membership devices side by side.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best fitness tracker with no monthly fee?

There is no single best one. On the pages read, the Amazfit Helio Strap ($99.99), Polar Loop ($199.99), Garmin CIRQA ($199.99), Elio ($264) and Ultrahuman Ring PRO ($479) list no required recurring fee. Choose by shape, battery and the features you want.

Is there a fitness tracker with no subscription at all?

Polar calls the Loop subscription-free and Amazfit says the Helio Strap needs no subscription. Garmin and Fitbit also sell optional paid plans for extra features, so read what sits behind them.

Do Oura and WHOOP require a subscription?

Oura lists a membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year, and says the ring still works without it, with more limited insights. WHOOP sells its device through a membership at $199, $239 or $359 a year.

Does Fitbit require a subscription?

The Fitbit Charge 6 page lists $159.95 and marks some features, such as the Daily Readiness Score, as available with Google Health Premium. Three months of Premium come with it. Google lists the plan from $9.99.

Does Garmin require a subscription?

Garmin lists the CIRQA Smart Band at $199.99 with no subscription required. An optional Garmin Connect+ plan adds features such as live activities and nutrition tracking.

How long does a no-subscription tracker battery last?

On the pages read, from up to 7 days for the Fitbit Charge 6 to 15 days for Elio and up to 15 days for the Ultrahuman Ring PRO. Makers test under their own conditions.

How much activity should my tracker show?

The CDC says adults need 150 minutes of moderate-intensity activity a week, or 75 minutes of vigorous activity, plus at least 2 days of muscle-strengthening activity.

Sources

  1. Polar, Loop (US page: price, battery, subscription), Polar. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  2. Garmin, CIRQA Smart Band (US page: price, battery, subscription, Connect+), Garmin. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  3. Amazfit, Helio Strap (US page: price, battery, subscription), Amazfit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  4. Ultrahuman, Ring PRO (US page: price, battery, subscription), Ultrahuman. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  5. Fitbit, Charge 6 (US page: price, battery, Premium features), Google, Fitbit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  6. Google Store, Google Health Premium (US page: starting price), Google. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  7. Withings, Sleep (US page: price, plan, setup), Withings. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  8. Chutex Elio US product page (price, battery, subscription, status), Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  9. Oura, Membership (US member pricing, what works without a membership), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  10. Oura, Oura Ring 5 (battery), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  11. WHOOP, Membership options (US prices, battery, tiers), WHOOP. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  12. Samsung, Galaxy Ring (US page: price, battery, phone requirements), Samsung. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  13. CDC, Physical Activity Guidelines for Adults (page dated Dec. 20, 2023), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  14. NHLBI, How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough? (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  15. FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (content current 01/06/2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026