Key facts
- Ring battery claims on the pages read run from up to 7 days (Samsung) to up to 15 days (Ultrahuman). 3
- Polar Loop lists $199.99, no subscription and 8 days of battery. 6
- Oura lists its US membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax. 2
- Sleep studies classify sleep stages from brain activity and eye movements, which neither a ring nor a band records. 12
Smart ring or fitness band: what actually differs?
Both shapes sense heart rate with light on the skin, add a motion sensor, and report sleep and activity in a phone app. The real differences are where you wear the device, how long it runs between charges, and whether the maker bills you after the purchase.
This page reads nine makers’ own pages on October 16, 2026 and records what each states. A value the page did not state is left as “not stated on the page read”. It is a dated table, not a ranking: no score is invented and no maker is marked down. Elio, made by Chutex, is included in the band table with the facts from its product page.
Rings
| Oura Ring 5 | Samsung Galaxy Ring | Ultrahuman Ring PRO | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price in US dollars | Not stated on the page read.1 | From $299.99 before trade-in.3 | $479.4 |
| Recurring cost | Membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax; without it the ring and app still work, with more limited insights.2 | Not stated on the page read.3 | The page says there are no recurring subscription fees.4 |
| Battery | Up to 6 to 9 days, depending on size and usage.1 | Up to 7 days; the page notes up to 6 days for smaller sizes.3 | Up to 15 days in Chill Mode; about 12 days in Turbo Mode.4 |
| Water | Waterproof up to 100 m (328 ft); IP68.1 | 10 ATM, up to 100 m for up to 10 minutes; IP68.3 | 100 m (328 ft).4 |
| Phone needed | iOS and Android.2 | Energy Score needs a compatible Samsung Galaxy AI phone and the Samsung Health app.3 | Not stated on the page read.4 |
Oura’s ring price is not shown because the page served to our reader quoted euros. Prices are as listed on the day of reading and can change.
Bands
| Band | Price | Recurring cost | Battery | Water | Screen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WHOOP | Device included with the membership.5 | $199, $239 or $359 a year by tier.5 | 14+ days.5 | Not stated on the page read.5 | Screenless.5 |
| Polar Loop | $199.99.6 | None; the page calls it subscription-free.6 | Up to 8 days.6 | WR30.6 | Screen-free.6 |
| Garmin CIRQA | $199.99.7 | None required; an optional Garmin Connect+ plan adds features.7 | Up to 10 days.7 | Not stated on the page read.7 | Screenless.7 |
| Amazfit Helio Strap | $99.99.8 | None required.8 | Up to 10 days.8 | 5 ATM, up to 50 m.8 | Screenless; worn on the arm.8 |
| Fitbit Charge 6 | $159.95.9 | Some features, such as the Daily Readiness Score, are marked as available with Google Health Premium; 3 months included.9 | Up to 7 days.9 | 50 m.9 | Color display.9 |
| Elio (Chutex) | $264, one-time.11 | None; no subscription required.11 | 15 days.11 | Described as waterproof; no rating on the page read.11 | Screenless; wrist or upper arm.11 |
Google lists Google Health Premium from $9.99, without stating the billing period on the page read.10 WHOOP’s tiers are annual and include the device. Prices are as listed on the day of reading.
What does the price look like in dollars?
Where a maker lists a one-time price and no recurring fee, the cost is the price. Where there is a recurring plan, the bill grows each year. The table below turns the listed prices into a first-year and a three-year figure for the products where both numbers were stated.
| Device | Listed price | Plan cost listed | Three-year total from the listed numbers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazfit Helio Strap | $99.99 | None required | $99.99.8 |
| Fitbit Charge 6 | $159.95 | Optional Google Health Premium, from $9.99 (period not stated) | $159.95 plus any plan you add.910 |
| Polar Loop | $199.99 | None | $199.99.6 |
| Garmin CIRQA | $199.99 | None required; optional Garmin Connect+ | $199.99 plus any plan you add.7 |
| Elio | $264 | None | $264.11 |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | From $299.99 | Not stated on the page read | From $299.99; plan cost unknown.3 |
| Ultrahuman Ring PRO | $479 | None | $479.4 |
| WHOOP One | Included | $199 a year | 3 × $199 = $597.5 |
| Oura Ring 5 with membership | Not stated on the page read | $69.99 a year | 3 × $69.99 = $209.97 plus the ring.2 |
Prices before tax and shipping, as listed. The gap between the $264 Elio and the $199.99 Polar Loop is $264 − $199.99 = $64.01. It is a price difference, not a quality score.
Prices move. Treat the numbers as a snapshot, and check the maker’s page before you buy. The structure matters more than the number: a ring or band with a plan keeps costing money, and one with no plan does not.
How do they differ to wear, sleep in and charge?
Comfort and sleep
A ring is small. Oura Ring 5 is listed at 6.09 mm wide, 2.28 mm thick and from 2 grams.1 A screenless band has a larger body but keeps nothing between you and the sensor and nothing to light up at 3 a.m. Polar describes its Loop as quiet, with no buzzing and no screen lighting up.6 Both shapes can be worn in bed; the question is which you stop noticing.
Fit changes the reading. A ring that spins or a band worn loose can pick up noise and miss beats. Rings need a size, and Ultrahuman and Samsung both point to sizing kits on their pages.34 Bands come in wrist sizes, and the Garmin page lists two wrist ranges, 120 to 200 mm and 145 to 240 mm.7
Battery and charging
The bar chart above shows the spread. A longer battery means fewer nights with the device on a charger. Samsung lists a seven-day charge and up to 14 days with the charging cradle.3 Ultrahuman lists up to 15 days in Chill Mode and up to 45 days with its PRO charging case.4 The WHOOP page lists a 14+ day battery with a wireless PowerPack.5
Screens
Rings have no screen. Bands split: WHOOP, Polar Loop, Garmin CIRQA, Amazfit Helio Strap and Elio are screenless, while the Fitbit Charge 6 has a color display.5678911 A screen gives you the time and a heart rate on the wrist but costs battery and attention. Screenless devices send everything to the phone app.
For comparisons within each shape, see the guide to best smart rings, Oura Ring alternatives and WHOOP alternatives. For a head to head of the two biggest names, see Oura vs WHOOP.
What can a ring or band measure, and what can it not?
Both shapes estimate. They sense light reflected from the skin and motion, then compute heart rate, heart rate variability, sleep time and activity. Oura lists red and infrared LEDs for blood oxygen, green and infrared LEDs for heart rate, heart rate variability and respiration, a temperature sensor and an accelerometer.1 Elio lists heart rate, heart rate variability, SpO₂, skin temperature and activity.11 Polar lists nightly heart rate variability, and Garmin lists HRV status and skin temperature.67
A sleep study is a different measurement. The NHLBI says sleep studies use sensors to record eye movements and brain activity, and that these classify sleep stages.12 Rings and bands do not record either one. Their stage labels are estimates, and total sleep time and weekly trends are the steadier signals.
The FDA’s general wellness guidance describes low risk products that promote a healthy lifestyle and separates them from products meant for disease care.14 Rings and bands of this kind sit on the wellness side. The NHLBI advises adults to sleep 7 to 9 hours a night.13 A device can tell you whether you got close to that. It cannot tell you why you did not.
For the signals themselves, see the guides to heart rate variability and normal resting heart rate. If you care about workouts as well as sleep, wrist versus chest strap heart rate explains where each fits.
Ring or band: which fits whom?
| If you… | Look at… | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Type all day or lift weights and want nothing to knock against equipment | A ring or a screenless band | Neither has a screen to knock; battery and size are the tradeoffs.16 |
| Want the lowest listed price | Amazfit Helio Strap | $99.99 with no subscription required.8 |
| Want a screen on the wrist | Fitbit Charge 6 | The only listed band with a color display.9 |
| Want one price and no plan | Polar Loop, Garmin CIRQA, Elio or Ultrahuman Ring PRO | Each page lists no recurring fee.46711 |
| Want to try a recurring-plan device | Oura or WHOOP | Both list a trial: a free first month at Oura and a one-month trial at WHOOP.25 |
| Want the longest listed battery | Ultrahuman Ring PRO or Elio | Both list up to 15 days.411 |
Sort by what you will actually keep wearing. A device in a drawer measures nothing.
- Pick the spot you can wear every night. Finger, wrist or upper arm. Comfort during sleep decides how many nights you have data.
- Set a three-year budget. Add the listed price and any plan. Use the cost table above.
- Check the phone. Confirm your phone works with the app before you buy; Samsung, for one, lists a Galaxy phone for some features.
- Wear it for two weeks. One week of data is noisy. Two weeks shows a pattern you can compare against later.
For devices built around sleep, see best sleep trackers. For devices without a recurring fee, see best fitness trackers without a subscription.
Frequently asked questions
Is a smart ring better than a fitness band?
Not by default. Rings are smaller and have no screen. Bands include screenless and screen options. The pages read list battery from 7 to 15 days across both shapes, so battery does not separate them. Choose the shape you will wear every night.
Which lasts longer on a charge, a smart ring or a fitness band?
Neither shape wins on the pages read. Ultrahuman Ring PRO and Elio each list up to 15 days, WHOOP lists 14+ days, and Samsung Galaxy Ring and Fitbit Charge 6 list up to 7 days.
Do smart rings need a subscription?
It depends on the maker. Oura lists a membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year, and its ring still works without one with more limited insights. Ultrahuman’s page says there are no recurring subscription fees. Samsung’s page did not state a plan.
What is the cheapest fitness band on the pages read?
The Amazfit Helio Strap at $99.99, with no required subscription. Prices change, so check the maker’s page.
Is a ring or a band more accurate?
The pages read give no like for like accuracy figure, so this page does not score it. Fit and consistent wear matter for both. Sleep studies use brain and eye sensors that neither shape records.
Can I sleep in a smart ring or a band?
Yes. Every page read describes sleep tracking for its device, and screenless designs have no display to light up at night. Pick the one you stop noticing.
Are these devices medical devices?
Chutex describes Elio as a wellness band, not a diagnostic device. The FDA’s wellness guidance separates low risk wellness products from products meant for disease care. Talk to a health professional about symptoms.
Sources
- Oura, Oura Ring 5 (battery, materials, sensors, water rating), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Oura, Membership (US member pricing, what works without a membership), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Samsung, Galaxy Ring (US page: price, battery, water rating), Samsung. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Ultrahuman, Ring PRO (US page: price, battery, water, subscription), Ultrahuman. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- WHOOP, Membership options (US prices, battery, tiers), WHOOP. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Polar, Loop (US page: price, battery, water, subscription), Polar. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Garmin, CIRQA Smart Band (US page: price, battery, features), Garmin. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Amazfit, Helio Strap (US page: price, battery, water, subscription), Amazfit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Fitbit, Charge 6 (US page: price, battery, water, Premium features), Google, Fitbit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Google Store, Google Health Premium (US page: starting price), Google. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Elio US product page (price, battery, sensors, status), Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NHLBI, How Sleep Works: Sleep Phases and Stages (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NHLBI, How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough? (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (content current 01/06/2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026