Key facts
- Oura lists its US membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year, and says the ring and app still work without it, with more limited insights. 2
- Ultrahuman lists the Ring PRO at $479 with up to 15 days of battery and no recurring subscription fees for data. 4
- RingConn lists the Gen 2 at $299, marked out of stock on the day of reading, with 10 to 12 days of battery by size. 5
- Samsung lists the Galaxy Ring from $299.99 in 9 sample sizes from 5 to 13. 3
- Elio is a screenless wristband at $264 with no subscription, not a ring. 6
What is a smart ring, and why is Elio in this comparison?
A smart ring is a finger ring with sensors inside. It has no screen. It records heart rate, motion and usually skin temperature, then sends the data to a phone app. The makers read for this page describe titanium bodies and sensors on the inner surface.1345
Elio is not a ring. It is a screenless wristband made by Chutex, and its page says it can be worn on the wrist or on the upper arm.6 It is in this table for one reason: it answers the same question. People who look at rings often want a device with no screen, no notifications lighting up at night, and a battery that lasts more than a few days. A screenless band meets that need in a different shape. It is a comparison point, not a claim that a band is better than a ring.
This page reads the makers’ own US pages on October 16, 2026. Each value sits next to the number of the source it came from. A value the page did not state is written as “not stated on the page read”. There is no ranking and no accuracy score, because none of the makers publishes a comparable one. Prices are before tax, as listed that day, and they change.
One price is missing on purpose. Oura’s ring page, as served to our reader, showed euros only. A euro price is not a US price, so no Oura ring price in dollars appears here. The membership price is in dollars and is included.12
How do the rings compare on price, plan and battery?
| Device | Price | Plan | Battery | Water rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oura Ring 5 | Not shown in dollars on the page read.1 | $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax; first month free for new members; the ring and app still work without it, with much more limited insights.2 | Up to 6 to 9 days, depending on ring size and usage.1 | Waterproof up to 100 m (328 ft); IP68.1 |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | From $299.99 before trade-in.3 | Not stated on the page read.3 | A seven-day charge; a footnote says up to 6 days for smaller sizes.3 | 10ATM classification; IP68.3 |
| Ultrahuman Ring PRO | $479, includes the PRO charging case.4 | No recurring subscription fees for accessing your data.4 | Up to 15 days; about 12 days in Turbo Mode; case adds up to 45 days.4 | 100 m (328 ft).4 |
| RingConn Gen 2 | $299; marked out of stock on the day of reading.5 | “No Subscription Required”.5 | 10 to 12 days by size; up to 150 days with the charging case.5 | IP68; 100 m (328 ft).5 |
| Elio (Chutex), a band | $264, one-time.6 | One-time purchase, no subscription.6 | 15 days, magnetic charging.6 | Described as waterproof; worn in the shower and during sport; no rating stated.6 |
Prices are as listed on the day of reading, before tax, and can change. Battery numbers are each maker’s own, measured under its own conditions. Elio is a wristband, shown for comparison only.
Two patterns stand out. First, billing: Oura is the one ring on the pages read that uses a membership, while Ultrahuman, RingConn and Elio state no recurring fee and Samsung’s page was silent.23456 Second, battery: the pages range from a seven-day charge at Samsung to up to 15 days at Ultrahuman.34 Elio’s 15 days sits at the top of that range.6
Battery claims are not equal across brands. Oura ties its range to ring size and usage, RingConn gives separate figures for small, medium and large sizes, and Samsung adds a footnote for smaller sizes.135 If you wear a small size, read the lower figure.
What does each one cost over three years?
A one-time price and a membership are hard to compare until you add the years. The chart multiplies what the pages list. It leaves out accessories and optional extras, and it leaves out Oura’s ring, which has no dollar price on the page read.
Worked example: Oura’s membership alone
Oura lists $69.99 a year or $5.99 a month.2 Over three years the annual plan costs 3 × $69.99 = $209.97. Paid monthly, it costs 36 × $5.99 = $215.64. The difference over one year is 12 × $5.99 = $71.88 against $69.99, or $1.89, which matches the page’s “about $2” saving.2 Add the ring price from Oura’s own US page before you decide, because that number is not written here.
Worked example: one price against a plan
Take the Ultrahuman Ring PRO at $479 and the Oura membership alone at $209.97 for three years. The membership is smaller than the ring price, but the Oura ring still has to be bought. Once Oura’s ring costs more than $479 − $209.97 = $269.03, the Oura total passes the Ultrahuman total over three years. Since Oura’s dollar ring price is not shown on the page read, check it yourself against that threshold.
Oura says the ring and app still work without a membership, and that you can download your data as a CSV file even then.2 That is a clear statement about what you keep if you stop paying. Ask the same question of any ring before buying.
How do sizes, weight and phone support compare?
A ring either fits or it does not, and a poor fit adds noise to the reading. Check sizing before price. Two makers offer a sizing kit on their pages, and both say to wear the sample for at least 24 hours before choosing.35
| Device | Sizes and sizing kit | Weight | Phone support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oura Ring 5 | Not stated on the page read.1 | From 2 grams, depending on size; 6.09 mm wide and 2.28 mm thick.1 | iOS and Android.1 |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | 9 sample sizes from 5 to 13; wear a sample for at least 24 hours.3 | Not stated on the page read.3 | Galaxy AI features require a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone; the page does not say whether iPhone is supported.3 |
| Ultrahuman Ring PRO | Sizes 5 to 14; free sizing kit recommended; no half sizes.4 | 3.3 to 4.8 grams, depending on size.4 | Page shows App Store and Google Play download badges; versions not stated.4 |
| RingConn Gen 2 | Sizes 6 to 14; free sizing kit, 3 to 8 days to arrive; wear a sample ring for at least 24 hours.5 | 2 to 3 grams, depending on size; 6.8 mm wide.5 | iOS 17.0 or later, Android 10.0 or later.5 |
| Elio (band) | Wristband; wrist sizes not stated on the page read.6 | Not stated on the page read.6 | Bluetooth to the Chutex app; phone needed for setup and detailed review; versions not stated.6 |
A value the page did not state is shown as “not stated on the page read”, not guessed.
Phone support deserves a check before you pay. Samsung’s page ties some features to a Samsung Galaxy phone.3 RingConn lists the minimum iOS and Android versions.5 Oura lists both platforms.1 If you use a phone that a page does not mention, ask the maker.
What can a ring measure, and what can it not?
Sensor lists are similar across the pages. Oura lists red and infrared LEDs for blood oxygen, green and infrared LEDs for heart rate, heart rate variability and respiration, a temperature sensor and an accelerometer.1 Samsung lists an accelerometer, an optical sensor and a skin temperature sensor.3 Ultrahuman lists temperature, a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor and a 6-axis motion sensor.4 RingConn lists heart rate, heart rate variability, blood oxygen, skin temperature and respiratory rate.5 Elio lists heart rate, heart rate variability, SpO₂, skin temperature and activity.6
All of these are estimates drawn from light and motion at the skin. They are not the same as a sleep study. The NHLBI says adults should sleep between 7 and 9 hours a night.7 A ring can show whether you got near that range over a week. It does not record brain activity, so any stage label it shows is an estimate. For more, see sleep stages explained and how sleep scores work.
The FDA’s general wellness guidance covers low risk products that promote a healthy lifestyle.8 Rings and bands of this kind are sold on that side of the line. Chutex describes Elio as a wellness band whose measurements are indicative, and says it is not FDA-cleared or FDA-evaluated.6 If a symptom worries you, see a health professional rather than a chart.
Which device fits which person?
| If you… | Look at… | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Want to avoid a recurring plan | Ultrahuman Ring PRO, RingConn Gen 2 or Elio | Each page states no recurring fee.456 |
| Are happy to pay a membership for more insight | Oura Ring 5 | Membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year; the ring still works without it, with more limited insights.2 |
| Use a Samsung Galaxy phone | Samsung Galaxy Ring | Galaxy AI features require a compatible Galaxy phone.3 |
| Want the longest listed battery | Ultrahuman Ring PRO or Elio | Up to 15 days on each page.46 |
| Dislike anything on a finger | Elio | A screenless wristband, worn on the wrist or upper arm.6 |
| Have a hand size outside the listed range | Check the size lists first | Samsung 5 to 13, Ultrahuman 5 to 14, RingConn 6 to 14.345 |
Choose the device you will wear every night. A small, comfortable device that you keep on beats a better one that stays in a drawer.
For the ring against band question in general, read smart ring vs fitness band. For substitutes to the best-known names, see Oura Ring alternatives and WHOOP alternatives. For devices that need no plan, see fitness trackers without a subscription.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best smart ring?
There is no single best one. On the pages read, Oura uses a membership, while Ultrahuman, RingConn and Elio state no recurring fee. Choose by fit, phone support, battery and what you are willing to pay each year.
Do smart rings need a subscription?
It depends on the maker. Oura lists a membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year and says the ring still works without it, with more limited insights. Ultrahuman and RingConn state no recurring subscription. Samsung’s page did not state a plan.
Is there a smart ring without a subscription?
Ultrahuman says there are no recurring subscription fees for accessing your data, and RingConn lists “No Subscription Required”. Read the current terms on each page before you buy.
Which smart ring has the longest battery?
On the pages read, Ultrahuman lists up to 15 days and RingConn lists 10 to 12 days by size. Samsung lists a seven-day charge. Makers test under their own conditions, and smaller sizes can run shorter.
How do I find my smart ring size?
Use the maker’s sizing kit. Samsung and RingConn both say to wear a sample for at least 24 hours. Ultrahuman recommends its free kit and notes its sizes may differ slightly from standard US ring sizes.
Do smart rings work with iPhone and Android?
Oura lists iOS and Android. RingConn lists iOS 17.0 or later and Android 10.0 or later. Samsung’s page says Galaxy AI features require a compatible Samsung Galaxy phone and does not say whether iPhone is supported.
Is Elio a smart ring?
No. Elio is a screenless wristband that can be worn on the wrist or the upper arm. It is in this comparison as a screenless alternative for people who want what rings offer without a ring.
Sources
- Oura, Oura Ring 5 (battery, size, water rating, sensors, phone support; price shown in euros only), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Oura, Membership (US member pricing, what works without a membership), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Samsung, Galaxy Ring (US page: price, sizes, battery, water rating, phone requirements), Samsung. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Ultrahuman, Ring PRO (US page: price, subscription, battery, sizes, weight), Ultrahuman. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- RingConn, Gen 2 (US page: price, subscription, battery, sizes, phone support), RingConn. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Elio US product page (price, battery, subscription, form, status), Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NHLBI, How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough? (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (content current 01/06/2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026