Key facts
- Adults are advised to sleep 7 to 9 hours a night. 13
- The CDC lists 7 or more hours of sleep for ages 18 to 60. 15
- Sleep studies classify stages from brain activity and eye movements, which consumer trackers do not record. 12
- The Amazfit Helio Strap lists $99.99 with no required subscription. 8
- Withings lists an optional Withings+ plan at $99.50 a year. 10
What a sleep tracker does, and how this table was built
A sleep tracker senses movement and heart rate, sometimes skin temperature, and estimates when you were asleep. It then shows the night as a score, a set of stages and a trend. It is a wellness tool for noticing habits, not a sleep test.
This page reads ten makers’ own pages on October 16, 2026 and records what each states. A value the page did not state is left as “not stated on the page read”. It is a dated table, not a ranking. No accuracy score is invented, and no product is marked down. Elio, made by Chutex, appears with the facts from its product page.
| Tracker | Type | Price | Recurring cost | Battery | Sleep features listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazfit Helio Strap | Screenless arm band | $99.99.8 | None required.8 | Up to 10 days.8 | Sleep stages including REM, sleep score, sleep heart rate variability, naps, breathing quality.8 |
| Fitbit Charge 6 | Band with display | $159.95.7 | Optional Google Health Premium; some features, such as the Daily Readiness Score, need it; 3 months included.7 | Up to 7 days.7 | Heart rate powers sleep stages.7 |
| Polar Loop | Screen-free band | $199.99.4 | None; called subscription-free.4 | Up to 8 days.4 | Sleep Plus Stages, Nightly Recharge, SleepWise, nightly heart rate variability.4 |
| Garmin CIRQA | Screenless band | $199.99.5 | None required; optional Garmin Connect+.5 | Up to 10 days.5 | Sleep score, sleep stages, sleep coach, HRV status, skin temperature, smart wake alarm.5 |
| Withings Sleep | Under-mattress sensor | $199.95.10 | Data stays free; optional Withings+ at $99.50 a year, first month free.10 | No charging needed; plugs into a USB adapter.10 | Deep, light and REM phases, duration, heart rate, snoring duration, sleep score.10 |
| Elio (Chutex) | Screenless band | $264, one-time.11 | None; no subscription required.11 | 15 days.11 | Duration, stages, latency, respiratory rate and skin temperature; sleep score in the app.11 |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | Ring | From $299.99.6 | Not stated on the page read.6 | Up to 7 days; up to 6 days for smaller sizes.6 | Sleep tracking and skin temperature readings; Energy Score needs a compatible Galaxy phone.6 |
| Oura Ring 5 | Ring | Not stated on the page read.1 | $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax; ring and app still work without it, with more limited insights.2 | Up to 6 to 9 days.1 | Sleep score, sleep stages, bedtime guidance.1 |
| WHOOP | Screenless band | Device included with the membership.3 | $199, $239 or $359 a year by tier.3 | 14+ days.3 | Recovery, sleep and strain scores on every tier.3 |
| Ultrahuman Ring PRO | Ring | $479.9 | None; the page says no recurring fees.9 | Up to 15 days; about 12 days in Turbo Mode.9 | Listed as deep sleep and recovery tracking.9 |
Prices are as listed on the day of reading, before tax, and can change. Oura’s ring price is not shown because the page served to our reader quoted euros. Samsung’s Energy Score and Garmin’s smart wake alarm are the makers’ own features, listed as stated.
Smartwatches are not in the table. They also track sleep, but they need a comparison of their own.
What does each type of sleep tracker suit?
| If you… | Look at… | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Do not want anything on your body in bed | Withings Sleep | A flat sensor under the mattress; no charging needed.10 |
| Want the lowest listed price | Amazfit Helio Strap | $99.99 with no required subscription.8 |
| Want sleep data and no recurring fee | Polar Loop, Garmin CIRQA, Elio or Ultrahuman Ring PRO | Each page lists no recurring fee.45911 |
| Like a ring’s small footprint | Oura Ring 5, Samsung Galaxy Ring or Ultrahuman Ring PRO | Rings are screenless and sit on a finger.169 |
| Want the longest battery | Ultrahuman Ring PRO or Elio | Both list up to 15 days.911 |
| Want a screen too | Fitbit Charge 6 | A band with a color display.7 |
Pick the device you will wear every night. Data from nights it was on the charger or in a drawer does not exist.
Wearable or under the mattress?
A wearable can follow you to the gym and into the day, and it senses heart rate from the skin. An under-mattress sensor like Withings Sleep sits flat under the sheet and measures heart rate, breathing and movement through the mattress with a pneumatic sensor, and it has a sound sensor for snoring.10 It watches only the bed. If you share a bed, read the maker’s notes on partners before you buy.
Ring, band or arm strap?
Ring or band is mostly a comfort choice. The guide to a smart ring versus a fitness band compares them side by side. The Amazfit Helio Strap is worn on the arm.8 Elio is worn on the wrist or the upper arm.11
What can a sleep tracker tell you, and what can it not?
A tracker can tell you when you went to bed, roughly when you fell asleep and woke, and how that varied across weeks. Several of these devices also report resting heart rate, heart rate variability and skin temperature during the night.4511
It cannot do what a sleep study does. The NHLBI says sleep studies use sensors that record eye movements and brain activity, which classify sleep phases and stages.12 A ring, band or mattress sensor records neither. Stage minutes on a consumer device are estimates.
Withings says Sleep was developed with sleep physicians and tested against polysomnography. The page gives no accuracy figure, and this page does not invent one.10 The same is true across the table: where a maker publishes a comparison with a sleep lab, read the method before you rely on a number.
For how scores are built, see the guide to sleep scores. For the stages themselves, see sleep stages explained, deep sleep and REM sleep.
How much sleep should the number show?
The NHLBI says experts recommend that adults sleep between 7 and 9 hours a night, and that adults who sleep under 7 hours may have more health issues than those who sleep 7 or more.13 The CDC lists 7 or more hours for ages 18 to 60, 7 to 9 hours for ages 61 to 64, and 7 to 8 hours for ages 65 and older.15
| Age group | Hours of sleep a night |
|---|---|
| 18 to 60 years | 7 or more.15 |
| 61 to 64 years | 7 to 9.15 |
| 65 years and older | 7 to 8.15 |
CDC page dated May 15, 2024, read 2026-10-16. Your tracker measures time asleep, which is shorter than time in bed.
Here is an illustration with made-up numbers. Suppose a tracker shows 6 h 40 min, 7 h 10 min, 6 h 55 min, 7 h 25 min, 6 h 30 min, 7 h 05 min and 7 h 00 min over a week. The total is 48 h 45 min, so the average is 48.75 ÷ 7 = about 6.96 hours, or roughly 6 h 58 min. That is close to 7 hours. One night under 7 hours is not a problem by itself; the weekly average is what the guidance is about.
If your average sits well under 7 hours for weeks, the number is telling you something. See how much sleep you need and sleep debt. A tracker is a nudge, and a doctor is the person to ask about persistent tiredness or loud snoring with pauses in breathing.
A two-week test before you decide
Write your bedtime and wake time in a notebook for the same two weeks. Then compare the tracker’s time asleep with your own estimate. The two will not match, because you cannot know when you fell asleep, but the gap should be steady. A tracker that is off by an hour one night and 15 minutes the next is harder to learn from.
Charge habits matter too. A device with a 15-day battery asks for a charge twice a month, and one with a 7-day battery asks for it weekly.711 Choose the routine you will keep.
These devices are wellness tools. The FDA’s general wellness guidance describes low risk products that promote a healthy lifestyle and separates them from products meant for disease care.14 Chutex describes Elio the same way: its measurements are indicative, and it is not FDA-cleared.11
If you wear a device that tracks heart rate variability for recovery, see the best HRV monitors. For alternatives to a specific brand, see Oura Ring alternatives and WHOOP alternatives, and for the two head to head, Oura vs WHOOP. For trackers with no recurring fee, see best fitness trackers without a subscription.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best sleep tracker?
There is no single best one. On the pages read, prices run from $99.99 for the Amazfit Helio Strap to $479 for the Ultrahuman Ring PRO. Choose by where you will wear it, battery life and whether a recurring fee suits you.
What is the best sleep tracker with no subscription?
The Polar Loop, Garmin CIRQA, Amazfit Helio Strap, Ultrahuman Ring PRO and Elio each list no required recurring fee. Garmin and Fitbit list optional paid plans. Check the maker’s page for the current terms.
Is a sleep tracker ring better than a band?
Neither is better by default. A ring is small, and a band can have a longer battery. The pages read list 7 to 15 days of battery in both shapes. Pick the one you stop noticing at night.
Can a sleep tracker show deep sleep and REM?
Many list sleep stages, but they are estimates. Sleep studies classify stages from brain activity and eye movements, which consumer trackers do not record. Use total time asleep and weekly trends first.
Is there a sleep tracker that goes under the mattress?
Withings Sleep is listed at $199.95 on the page read. It measures heart rate, breathing and movement through the mattress. Withings lists an optional Withings+ plan at $99.50 a year, with the first month free.
How many hours of sleep should my tracker show?
The NHLBI says adults should sleep 7 to 9 hours a night. The CDC lists 7 or more hours for ages 18 to 60. Tracker time asleep is shorter than time in bed.
Do sleep trackers diagnose sleep problems?
No. They are wellness tools. Talk to a health professional about loud snoring with pauses in breathing, severe daytime sleepiness or sleep problems that last for weeks.
Sources
- Oura, Oura Ring 5 (battery, features), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Oura, Membership (US member pricing, what works without a membership), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- WHOOP, Membership options (US prices, battery, tiers), WHOOP. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Polar, Loop (US page: price, battery, sleep features, subscription), Polar. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Garmin, CIRQA Smart Band (US page: price, battery, sleep features), Garmin. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Samsung, Galaxy Ring (US page: price, battery, sleep features), Samsung. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Fitbit, Charge 6 (US page: price, battery, Premium features), Google, Fitbit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Amazfit, Helio Strap (US page: price, battery, sleep features, subscription), Amazfit. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Ultrahuman, Ring PRO (US page: price, battery, subscription), Ultrahuman. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Withings, Sleep (US page: price, plan, sensors, metrics), Withings. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- Chutex Elio US product page (price, battery, sensors, status), Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NHLBI, How Sleep Works: Sleep Phases and Stages (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- NHLBI, How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough? (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (content current 01/06/2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026
- CDC, About Sleep (page dated May 15, 2024), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Retrieved October 16, 2026