Key facts
- Oura’s UK membership costs £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year, taxes included, and the ring’s own price was not stated on the page read. 1
- The Amazfit Helio Ring was listed at £149.90 on its UK page on 2026-10-16, with a struck-through earlier price of £269.00. 4
- A meta-analysis of six studies and 388 participants found no significant difference between the Oura Ring and sleep-lab or actigraphy measures for total sleep time. 10
- In a clinical study, ring agreement on sleep stages was 53.18% for Oura, and the authors said large individual errors rule out use in clinical sleep medicine. 11
Smart ring or band: what changes?
A smart ring reads your pulse and movement from a finger. A screenless band does the same job on the wrist. Neither shows a display of consequence, and both are aimed at sleep, recovery and daily activity rather than at turning your wrist into a phone. The differences are practical: how it feels at night, how it copes with a gym session, how long it lasts between charges and what it costs once any subscription is added.
Elio, the Chutex device mentioned at the end of this page, is a band, not a ring. It appears here only as a point of comparison for readers who decide a ring is not for them.
This is a dated comparison and not a ranking. Chutex has not worn or tested any ring below. Each cell comes from a maker’s page or a published study and carries a source number. Where a page did not state a fact, the cell says so. Prices were read on 2026-10-16.
How do the main smart rings compare?
| Ring | Price in pounds | Subscription | Sizes (maker numbering) | Other facts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazfit Helio Ring | £149.90, earlier price of £269.00 struck through 4 | None announced. The Zepp Fitness app is described as free for Helio Ring users 4 | 8, 10 and 12 listed 4 | Under 4 g, 2.6 mm thick, titanium alloy, 10 ATM water resistance 4 |
| Oura Ring 5 | Not stated on the page read | Membership £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year for UK members 1 | 6 to 13 2 | Described by Oura as its slimmest and lightest ring 2 |
| Oura Ring 4 | Not stated on the page read | Membership £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year for UK members 1 | 4 to 15 2 | Titanium, water resistant to 100 m, up to 7 days of battery, on a page served outside the UK 3 |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | Not stated on the page read | Not stated on the page read | 5 to 15, three titanium finishes 5 | No further facts taken from the list page |
| Ultrahuman Ring | Not stated on the page read | Not required, according to its pricing page 6 | Not stated on the page read | The pricing page showed dollars, which are not used here 6 |
Read on 2026-10-16. Size numbers are each maker’s own scale, not British letter sizes, and one maker’s number does not match another’s. The Oura 7-day battery figure comes from a page served outside the UK that does not name a generation.
The Oura membership needs an Oura Ring to work. Oura says that buying, activating and consistently wearing one is the only way to get the daily insights, and new members get a free first month.1 The Amazfit page makes no such requirement, and says the Zepp Fitness app is free for Helio Ring owners.4
Oura describes its titanium ring as hypoallergenic with a seamless inner moulding.3 That is a maker’s description, not a medical guarantee, and it comes from a page served outside the UK. If you react to metals, check with the maker or a pharmacist before buying.
How do you choose a ring size?
Ring sizing is where a ring is harder than a band. A band has an adjustable strap. A ring is sized, and the makers read here use their own numbering, not the letters used by British jewellers. No maker page read gave a conversion to UK letter sizes or inner diameters in millimetres, so this page does not print one.
Oura says the Oura Ring 5 is sized differently from the Oura Ring 4, so a size worn in one generation may not carry over.2 Treat the maker’s own sizing guide as the authority, and size the finger you will wear it on.
Fingers change through the day, with heat and with activity. A practical approach is to measure at the end of the day, not first thing in the morning.
What does a ring cost over three years?
A ring with a membership adds a running cost to the purchase price. The sum below uses the prices read on 2026-10-16. Only one ring had both a price and a subscription position that could be read, so the table is short on purpose.
| Device | Purchase price | Plan over 36Â months | Three-year total | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazfit Helio Ring | £149.90 | None announced | £149.90 | 4 |
| Oura Ring | Not stated on the page read | £215.64 monthly (36 x 5.99) or £209.97 yearly (3 x 69.99) | Ring price plus the plan: not calculable | 1 |
| Samsung Galaxy Ring | Not stated on the page read | Not stated on the page read | Not calculable | 5 |
| Ultrahuman Ring | Not stated on the page read | Not required, according to its pricing page | Not calculable | 6 |
| Polar Loop (band) | £149.50 | None, as Polar describes it | £149.50 | 7 |
| Garmin CIRQA (band) | £179.99 | None required | £179.99 | 8 |
| Elio (band) | £264 as shown on its UK page, no VAT shown | None, one-time payment | £264 as shown | 9 |
The Amazfit struck-through price of £269.00 is the page’s own reference. The discount shown is 269.00 minus 149.90, which is £119.10, or 44.3%. How long that price lasts was not stated. The Elio price is shown without VAT.
The Oura sum shows why a membership matters: £209.97 over three years on the yearly plan is a cost on top of the ring. The yearly plan saves £1.89 against the monthly one over the first twelve months, which is 12 x 5.99 = £71.88 against £69.99.1
How accurate is a ring? What studies show
A ring can look precise and still be wrong for you on a given night. Three studies give a fair picture, with the limits noted beside each.
| Study | Who and what | Finding | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Khan 2025, meta-analysis | Six studies, 388 participants, Oura Ring against polysomnography or actigraphy | No statistically significant difference for total sleep time. The mean difference was minus 2.97Â minutes. | 10 |
| Herberger 2025, clinical sleep study | Patients at a sleep laboratory, three ring trackers (Oura, SleepOn, Circul) | Group-level differences for total sleep time were small, under 12Â minutes for Oura, but individual-level differences often remained large. Sleep stage accuracy was 53.18% for Oura and 35.06% for the Circul ring. | 11 |
| Dial 2025, overnight comparison with ECG | 13 adults, 536 nights | For heart rate variability, Oura Gen 4 had a concordance coefficient of 0.99 and an average error of 5.96%. WHOOP 4.0, a band, had 0.94 and 8.17%, described as moderate. | 12 |
All three are study abstracts. They test specific models (Oura Gen 3 and Gen 4 for the heart rate variability study) and should not be applied to a different ring or a later generation.
Read together, they say a ring can track how long you slept on average, but it will not reliably tell you your deep sleep on a particular night, and it is not a clinical tool. The authors of the clinical study said average agreement hides large individual errors, which rules out use in clinical sleep medicine.11 A ring is not a test for sleep apnoea or any other condition.
For a night-by-night view of heart rate variability, the ECG comparison favoured Oura over WHOOP by 2.21 percentage points of average error (8.17 minus 5.96).12 That is one small study at one laboratory, not a verdict.
For what the stages mean, see sleep stages. For the heart rate variability measure itself, see heart rate variability.
Ring or band: who should choose which?
| Criterion | Amazfit Helio Ring | Oura | Polar Loop | Elio |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Form | Ring 4 | Ring 2 | Screenless band 7 | Screenless band 9 |
| UK price | £149.90 4 | Ring: not stated on the page read. Membership £5.99 a month 1 | £149.50 7 | £264 as shown, no VAT shown 9 |
| Subscription | None announced 4 | Yes 1 | None 7 | None 9 |
| Weight | Under 4Â g 4 | Not stated on the page read | 29Â g 7 | Not stated on the page read |
| Battery claimed | Not stated on the page read | Up to 7Â days, page served outside the UK 3 | Up to 8Â days 7 | 15Â days 9 |
Maker claims, not measurements. Weight and battery lines were not available for every device.
A ring may suit you if
- You want the lightest possible device at night. The Helio Ring is described as under 4Â g.4
- You prefer something that looks like jewellery and do not mind sizing.
- You accept a membership, as with Oura, or choose a ring without one.
A band may suit you if
- You would rather not size a finger, and want a strap you can adjust.
- You want a longer claimed battery life: Polar says up to 8Â days and Chutex says 15 for Elio.79
- You lift weights or do other work with your hands. No maker page read gave guidance on wearing a ring in the gym, so check the maker’s advice before you rely on one.
For wrist-based options in more depth, see best fitness trackers and best sleep trackers. For the Oura and WHOOP comparison, see Oura vs WHOOP.
What can a ring not tell you?
A ring is a wellness device. It gives estimates of sleep time, stages and heart measures, and it cannot diagnose a condition. The studies above found that individual nights can differ widely from the reference, and the authors of the clinical study ruled out their use in clinical sleep medicine.11
If you are worried about your sleep, your heartbeat or snoring, speak to a GP rather than relying on a device. For the hours most adults need, see how much sleep you need.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best smart ring in the UK?
That depends on the criterion, and this page has not tested any ring. On prices read on 2026-10-16, the only ring with a UK price was the Amazfit Helio Ring at £149.90. Oura’s ring price was not stated on the page read.
Do smart rings need a subscription?
It depends on the maker. Oura charges £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year for UK members and requires an Oura Ring. Amazfit says its Zepp Fitness app is free for Helio Ring users.
How do I find my ring size in UK sizes?
The makers read here use their own number scales and gave no UK letter conversion. Use the maker’s sizing guide. Oura sizes run from 4 to 15 for the Oura Ring 4 and 6 to 13 for the Oura Ring 5.
Are smart rings accurate?
On average, partly. A meta-analysis found no significant difference from sleep-lab or actigraphy measures for total sleep time in the Oura Ring. A clinical study found sleep stage accuracy of 53.18% for Oura and large individual errors.
Smart ring or fitness tracker?
A ring is lighter and needs sizing. A band has an adjustable strap and, for the devices read here, a longer claimed battery life. See the fitness tracker comparison for wrist devices side by side.
Can I wear a smart ring while lifting weights?
No maker page read gave guidance on this, so check the maker’s advice. Amazfit lists 10 ATM water resistance and Oura describes water resistance to 100 m, but neither is a statement about gym use.
Sources
- Oura, Membership (FAQ and footnote on prices by country), Oura. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Oura, How to size your new Oura Ring, Oura. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Oura, Heart rate monitoring (page served outside the UK; dollar prices not used), Oura. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Amazfit UK, Helio Ring, Amazfit. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Samsung UK, Galaxy Ring (list page), Samsung. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Ultrahuman, Ring pricing (page showed dollars; no price used), Ultrahuman. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Polar UK, POLAR Loop, Polar. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Garmin UK, CIRQA Smart Band, Garmin. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Chutex, Elio health band (UK product page), Chutex. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Khan et al., The Oura Ring versus sleep studies, systematic review and meta-analysis (OTO Open, 2025), abstract, PubMed. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Herberger et al., Performance of wearable finger ring trackers for diagnostic sleep measurement in the clinical context (Sci Rep, 2025), abstract, PubMed. Retrieved 16 October 2026
- Dial et al., Validation of nocturnal resting heart rate and heart rate variability in consumer wearables (Physiol Rep, 2025), abstract, PubMed. Retrieved 16 October 2026