Key facts
- Polar sells the Loop, a screenless band, for £149.50 and says it has no monthly fees and no locked features. 1
- Garmin Connect+ costs £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year, which is £209.97 over three years on the yearly plan. 4
- Whoop sells access by annual membership, from £169 a year for One to £349 a year for Life, with the device included. 7
- Oura says that without a membership the ring and app still work, but with much more limited insights, and that all data can be exported as CSV. 8
What does “no subscription” really mean?
The phrase covers three different set-ups, and shop pages do not always say which one you are buying. It helps to sort every tracker into one of them before you compare prices.
- No plan at all. You pay for the device once. Polar describes the Loop this way: no monthly fees, no locked features and a one-time payment.1 Amazfit makes a similar claim for the Helio Strap.10
- An optional plan. The device works without it, and a paid tier adds features. Garmin sells Connect+ alongside its devices, and says its features vary by device.34 Google lists some Fitbit Charge 6 features, such as the daily readiness score, as available with Google Health Premium.9
- A required membership. Access to the service is the thing you buy. Whoop says each membership includes a device and a charger,7 and describes the model as a lower-cost way to try its technology in place of a high device price.7
A fourth case sits in between. Oura sells a ring and a membership. It says the ring and app still work without the membership, but that the insights and benefits are much more limited.8 So “needs a subscription” is not quite true of Oura, and “free to use” is not either.
This page keeps to what each maker’s own page says. It does not test any device and it does not rank them. For a wider comparison that also covers battery life, GPS and accuracy studies, see the full fitness tracker comparison, and for how wrist and chest-strap heart rate readings differ, see wrist versus chest strap heart rate. This page goes deeper on the one question of plans and total cost.
How was this comparison made?
Every price and plan below comes from the maker’s own page, read on 2026-10-21. Prices are in pounds as shown, and no price from a euro or dollar page has been converted. The pages do not all say whether VAT is included. Amazfit’s page says tax is included; the Elio page shows no VAT, and the other pages are quoted as shown.1012
The criteria are the ones that change the bill: the price of the device, whether a plan is required, optional or absent, what the page says still works if you stop paying, and whether you can take your data with you. Each cell carries a source number. Where a page was silent, the cell says “not stated” rather than guessing.
How do the trackers compare on price and plan?
| Device | Device price | Plan | What the page says stays free | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Polar Loop (screenless) | £149.50 | None: “No monthly fees” | Full access to every feature from day one | 1 |
| Garmin CIRQA Smart Band (screenless) | £179.99; shipping in 2 to 3 weeks when read | None: described as subscription-free. Connect+ is a separate Garmin plan | Not read beyond the page description | 23 |
| Amazfit Helio Strap (screenless) | £99.90, tax included; sold out when read | None: “without the hassle of subscriptions” | Free Zepp app | 10 |
| Fitbit Charge 6 (screen) | £139.99, or £46.66 a month for 3 months | Optional: three months of Google Health Premium included, then £7.99 a month; cancel anytime; offer ends 26/05/27 | Some features, such as the daily readiness score, are Premium only | 9 |
| Garmin Forerunner 70 (screen) | £219.99 | Optional Connect+: £6.99 a month or £69.99 a year | Not stated on the page read | 645 |
| Whoop (screenless) | Included in the membership: One £169, Peak £229, Life £349, each a year | Required: the device comes with the membership | Not stated on the page read | 7 |
| Oura (ring) | Ring price not read | Membership: £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year for UK members, with the first month free | Ring and app still work, with much more limited insights; CSV export remains | 8 |
| Ultrahuman Ring AIR (ring) | Not read | “No mandatory subscription” on the home page (the /uk/ address redirects to the global page) | Not stated beyond that line | 11 |
| Elio (Chutex, screenless) | £264, no VAT shown | None: one-time payment, no subscription in Chutex’s UK product facts | Not broken down feature by feature | 12 |
Read on 2026-10-21. Prices are as shown on each maker’s UK page and may not be like-for-like on VAT. The Whoop and Oura rows carry the limits described above. “Not read” means the price was not available on the page read, so none is given.
Three things stand out without any ranking. First, the three screenless bands with no plan (Polar Loop, Garmin CIRQA and Amazfit Helio Strap) sit between £99.90 and £179.99 on the pages read, though the Helio Strap was sold out. Second, the two watches with a screen both have optional extras, and the page for one of them did not say what the extra adds. Third, Whoop and Oura both charge a recurring fee, but Oura says the ring still works without one and Whoop’s page did not say what is left.
Garmin’s own wording needs care. The page read says Connect+ exists, that its features vary by device, and that the CIRQA is subscription-free.24 It does not say that every Garmin device works without a plan, so this page does not say that either.
What does each tracker cost over three years?
The price on the shelf is only the start. The sums below assume the prices read on 2026-10-21 stay the same for 36 months, with no discount or accessory and no free trial, except Google’s three included months for the Fitbit Charge 6. The formula is the device price plus the plan: monthly fee × 36, or yearly fee × 3. Real prices will move, so treat the figures as an illustration of how plans add up.
| Device | Plan kept for 36 months | Sum | Three-year total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Polar Loop | None | £149.50 | £149.50 |
| Garmin CIRQA | None | £179.99 | £179.99 |
| Elio (Chutex) | None | £264 | £264 |
| Fitbit Charge 6 | Premium kept after the 3 included months | 139.99 + 33 × 7.99 | £403.66 |
| Garmin Forerunner 70 with Connect+ | Yearly | 219.99 + 3 × 69.99 | £429.96 |
| Garmin Forerunner 70 with Connect+ | Monthly | 219.99 + 36 × 6.99 | £471.63 |
| Whoop One | Membership with device | 3 × 169 | £507 |
| Whoop Peak | Membership with device | 3 × 229 | £687 |
| Whoop Life | Membership with device | 3 × 349 | £1,047 |
| Oura membership only | Yearly or monthly | 3 × 69.99, or 36 × 5.99 | £209.97 or £215.64, plus the ring |
Sums rechecked by script. The Oura ring price was not read, so that row is incomplete. No plan is assumed to be kept unless the row says so; the Garmin Connect+ rows are the cost only if you keep the plan.
A few comparisons make the numbers concrete. Whoop One over three years costs £507, which is £357.50 more than the Polar Loop at £149.50, and £243 more than Elio at £264. Whoop One works out at about £14.08 a month. Between Whoop tiers, Peak adds £180 over three years against One, and Life adds a further £360 over Peak.
Paying yearly instead of monthly saves little on some plans. Garmin Connect+ is £6.99 × 12 = £83.88 monthly against £69.99 yearly, a saving of £13.89 a year. Oura is £5.99 × 12 = £71.88 monthly against £69.99 yearly, a saving of just £1.89.
The same sums for the wider list of trackers, including battery and GPS, are on the best fitness trackers page. For the two membership brands side by side, see Oura and Whoop compared.
What happens to your tracker if you stop paying?
This is the question that shop pages answer least often. The pages read give a clear answer for only some brands.
| Brand | What the page says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Oura | The ring and app still work, with much more limited insights. You can cancel at any time and keep full access to the end of the billing cycle. All data can be exported as CSV, and account data stays saved until the account is deleted. | 8 |
| Whoop | The membership is how the device is supplied. The page read does not say what remains usable after cancelling. The lifetime warranty applies only with an active membership and a purchase direct from Whoop. A device can be returned within 30 days of receipt for a refund minus shipping. | 7 |
| Garmin | Connect+ is optional and its features vary by device. The page read does not list what stops working if you cancel. | 4 |
| Fitbit | Google offers three months of Premium with the Charge 6, then it renews at £7.99 a month unless cancelled, and some features are available only with Premium. | 9 |
| Polar, Amazfit | No plan to stop. Polar says: no monthly fees, no locked features, full access from day one. Amazfit’s page presents a free app. | 110 |
Blank statements are deliberate: the pages read were silent, so nothing is inferred. The Whoop return terms are Whoop’s own, not a general rule.
Two practical points follow. If you are already paying for a plan, check whether you can export your data before you cancel; Oura’s page says you can, and none of the other pages read said either way. And if a membership is how the device is supplied, as with Whoop, stopping payment is a bigger decision than turning off an add-on.
Screenless or with a display: which fits you?
Subscriptions and screens often go together in the shops, but they are separate choices. Here is what the pages read say about each kind.
Screenless bands
Polar, Garmin, Amazfit, Whoop and Elio all sell a band with no screen. You read the data in an app. Polar says the Loop lasts up to 8 days on a charge with 4 weeks of onboard memory and a 2-year warranty.1 Garmin’s description of the CIRQA mentions 24/7 health and sleep tracking and up to 10 days of battery; this comes from the page description only, because the other tabs did not load when read.2 Amazfit says the Helio Strap runs up to 10 days.10
The phone matters here. Polar says that with the Loop you start a session by hand in the Polar Flow app, which uses your phone’s GPS for the route,1 so the phone has to come along. Amazfit says the Helio Strap records heart rate and syncs it with the app even if you are not carrying your phone.10 Whether Oura, Whoop and the Garmin CIRQA work without a phone was not read, so it is not stated here.
Bands and watches with a display
The Fitbit Charge 6 has built-in GPS, so pace and distance show without a phone, and Google states 7 days of battery.9 The Garmin Forerunner 70 is a watch with a touchscreen at £219.99, and the page read does not say what Connect+ adds to it.6
Rings
Oura and Ultrahuman make rings. The Oura membership is covered above, and the ring’s price was not read. Ultrahuman’s home page says “No mandatory subscription” for the Ring AIR, but no pound price was read, so a three-year sum is not possible.11 For a closer look at rings, see the smart ring comparison. For a wider look at screenless bands that watch your health, see the smart band guide.
Which fits whom
- You want the lowest outlay and no recurring fee: the bands marked “None” in the table, bearing in mind the Helio Strap was sold out when read.
- You want GPS on the wrist without carrying a phone: look at the devices that state their own GPS, such as the Fitbit Charge 6, and check the plan terms first.9
- You like a ring and accept a monthly or yearly fee: the Oura membership sums above show what the plan adds.8
- You want one purchase with a one-time payment and no subscription, and a quiet band on the wrist: that is how Chutex’s UK product facts describe Elio, a screenless wellness band at £264 with no VAT shown.12
What should you check before you buy?
A short checklist turns the table into a decision. Seven questions cover most of the surprises.
- Is a plan required, optional or absent? Look for the plan on the product page, not only on the checkout page. Write down which of the three set-ups it is.
- What is the monthly and the yearly price? Work out the cost over 36 months for both, using the formula above, and add the device price.
- What stops working if you cancel? Look for a clear sentence on this. If the page is silent, as several are, ask the maker before buying.
- Can you export your data? Oura says you can take all your data as CSV even without a membership.8 Check the same for any other brand.
- Does it need your phone? Find out whether routes use your phone’s GPS or the device’s own, as Polar and Fitbit state differently.19
- What is the free trial? Trials such as Oura’s first free month and Google’s three months of Premium end, so note the date they convert to a paid plan.89
- What is the return window? GOV.UK tells sellers that a customer can cancel an online order within 14 days of receiving it, with no reason needed.13 Whoop gives its own 30 days.7
On returns, GOV.UK’s guidance is written for sellers. It says a seller cannot deduct fees from a refund unless the item has been used or damaged, and that online sellers must tell customers about the right to cancel up to 14 days after delivery.1314 That is a rule for sellers, not a promise from any single brand, so check each maker’s own terms as well.
What can a fitness tracker not do?
A tracker is a wellness device. It can show trends in activity, sleep and heart rate over days and weeks. It does not diagnose anything, and Elio is a wellness band whose readings are indicative.
The line between wellness and medical is set by what the maker says the product is for. The MHRA guidance says tracking general fitness, health and wellbeing is not usually considered a medical purpose, and that software which does meet the definition of a medical device must be UKCA marked in Great Britain.15 The word “usually” matters: the answer depends on the stated purpose, not on how a gadget looks.
Some brands label their own features this way. Whoop says its ECG is a medically regulated feature, and says its Healthspan feature is for wellness purposes only and not for medical use.7 Read each feature’s own label rather than assuming the whole device is one or the other.
For sleep readings, see how a sleep score works, sleep stages explained and the sleep tracker comparison. For heart rate variability, see the HRV guide.
When should you speak to a GP instead?
A band cannot tell you whether a symptom matters. The NHS page on heart palpitations says to see a GP if palpitations come back or become more frequent, and to call 999 or go to A&E if they do not go away or come with chest pain or breathlessness.16 If a reading worries you, or you feel unwell, speak to a GP rather than to the app. See also what a normal resting heart rate is.
Frequently asked questions
Which fitness trackers have no subscription?
On the UK pages read on 2026-10-21, Polar describes the Loop as having no monthly fees, Garmin describes the CIRQA as subscription-free, and Amazfit presents the Helio Strap without subscriptions, though it was sold out when read. Chutex’s UK facts for Elio say one-time payment, no subscription. Check each page again before buying.
Does Whoop work without a subscription?
Whoop sells access by annual membership, and each membership includes the device and a charger. The page read does not say what remains usable after you cancel, so this page does not claim anything either way.
Does Oura need a membership?
Oura says the ring and app still work without one, but with much more limited insights. For UK members it lists £5.99 a month or £69.99 a year, in a legal note on its worldwide page, and the first month is free for new members.
Is a subscription worth paying for?
That depends on what the plan adds to your device, which several pages do not say. The sums show the cost: Garmin Connect+ on the yearly plan is £209.97 over three years, and Oura’s membership is £209.97 on the yearly plan. Whether the extra features are worth it is your call.
Can I use a tracker without a phone?
It depends on the model. Fitbit states built-in GPS for pace and distance without a phone, Amazfit says the Helio Strap syncs heart rate even if you do not carry your phone, and Polar says the Loop uses your phone’s GPS for routes. For other models, it was not read.
Are fitness trackers medical devices?
Usually not. The MHRA says tracking general fitness, health and wellbeing is not usually considered a medical purpose, but a product whose stated purpose is medical must meet the medical device rules and carry the UKCA mark in Great Britain.
How much does Garmin Connect+ cost?
£6.99 a month or £69.99 a year on the UK pages read on 2026-10-21. Garmin offers a free trial on its plans page and says the features vary by device.
Sources
- Polar UK, POLAR Loop screen-free wearable health band and fitness tracker, Polar. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Garmin UK, CIRQA Smart Band (product page, price in page data and description), Garmin. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Garmin UK, Subscription plans, Garmin. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Garmin UK, Garmin Connect+ subscription, monthly plan, Garmin. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Garmin UK, Garmin Connect+ subscription, yearly plan, Garmin. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Garmin UK, Forerunner 70 (product page), Garmin. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Whoop, Memberships (GB page, read by fetching the /gb/en/ address because direct view redirected to a French page in euros), Whoop. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Oura, Membership (worldwide English page, pound prices in a legal note for UK members), Oura. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Google Store UK, Fitbit Charge 6, Google Store. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Amazfit UK, Helio Strap, Amazfit. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Ultrahuman, home page (the /uk/ address redirects to the global page; Ring AIR block), Ultrahuman. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- Chutex, Elio health band (UK product page), Chutex. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- GOV.UK, Accepting returns and giving refunds, GOV.UK. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- GOV.UK, Online and distance selling for businesses, GOV.UK. Retrieved 21 October 2026
- MHRA, Medical devices: software applications (apps), guidance last updated 1 July 2023, GOV.UK (MHRA). Retrieved 21 October 2026
- NHS, Heart palpitations (last reviewed 17 March 2026), NHS. Retrieved 21 October 2026