Chutex

Comparison

Oura vs WHOOP: membership cost, battery and features side by side

Oura is a smart ring with a US membership listed at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax. WHOOP is a screenless band sold through a membership that starts at $199 a year and includes the device. Both lean on a paid plan for full features. Elio is a one-time purchase.134

Key facts

  • Oura lists its US membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year, before tax. 1
  • WHOOP lists three memberships at $199, $239 and $359 a year, each with a device included. 3
  • Oura Ring 5 lists up to 6 to 9 days of battery; WHOOP lists 14+ days. 2
  • Adults are advised to sleep 7 to 9 hours a night, whichever device you wear. 5

Oura vs WHOOP: the short comparison

Oura and WHOOP both track sleep, heart rate and recovery all day, and both sell the idea of a daily readiness number. They differ in shape and in billing. Oura is a titanium ring you buy and then pair with a membership.12 WHOOP is a screenless band that you receive as part of a membership.3

This page reads the two makers’ own pages on October 16, 2026 and puts the facts in one dated table. A value that the page did not state is left as “not stated on the page read”. Nothing here is a ranking, and no accuracy score is invented. Elio, made by Chutex, is added as a third column so you can see a one-time price next to two recurring ones.

Oura Ring 5, WHOOP and Elio compared. Read on 2026-10-16 from ouraring.com/membership and ouraring.com/store/rings/oura-ring-5 (Oura), whoop.com/us/en/membership/ (WHOOP) and chutex-innovation.com/en-us/products/elio/ (Elio). Source numbers sit in each cell.
Oura Ring 5WHOOPElio (Chutex)
ShapeSmart ring, titanium, from 2 grams depending on size.2Screenless band; the 5.0 device on One and Peak, the MG device on Life.3Screenless band, worn on the wrist or upper arm.4
Hardware price in US dollarsNot stated on the page read.2Device included with the membership; no separate price on the page read.3$264, one-time.4
Recurring cost$5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax for US members; the first month is free for new members.1$199 a year (One), $239 (Peak) or $359 (Life), listed as “Available at”.3None; the page says no subscription is required.4
Without a paid planThe ring and app still work, with more limited insights.1Not stated on the page read.3Band, app, updates and the Aria coach are included in the price.4
BatteryUp to 6 to 9 days, depending on ring size and usage.214+ day battery life.315 days.4
WaterWaterproof up to 100 m (328 ft); IP68.2Not stated on the page read.3Described as waterproof; no depth rating on the page read.4
SleepSleep score and sleep stages.2Recovery, sleep and strain scores on every tier.3Sleep duration, stages, latency, respiratory rate and skin temperature, with a sleep score in the app.4
Daily readinessReadiness Score from temperature trends, heart rate and sleep.2Recovery score.3Recovery index in green, orange or red.4
Sensors listedRed and infrared LEDs for blood oxygen; green and infrared LEDs for heart rate, heart rate variability and respiration; temperature sensor; accelerometer.2Not stated on the page read.3Heart rate, heart rate variability, SpO₂, skin temperature and activity.4
PhoneiOS and Android.1Not stated on the page read.3A phone is needed for setup and detailed review.4

Prices are as listed by each maker on the day of reading and can change. Oura’s ring price is not shown because the page served to our reader quoted euros, and a dollar price was not stated.

Longest battery life each maker lists, in daysBars of the upper figure each page lists: Oura Ring 5 up to 9 days, WHOOP 14 plus days, Elio 15 days.Oura Ring 5up to 9 daysWHOOP14+ daysElio15 days
Upper end of each range as written by the maker, read 2026-10-16.234 Makers test under their own conditions, so real battery life varies with use and settings.

What does each one cost over three years?

The price tag is only part of the bill when a membership is involved. The table below does the arithmetic from the listed recurring prices. It leaves out Oura’s ring price, which was not stated in dollars on the page read, so the Oura line is a floor and not a total.

Recurring cost over three years, from the prices read on 2026-10-16
PlanPer yearThree yearsArithmetic
Oura membership, paid yearly$69.99$209.97 plus the ring3 × $69.99 = $209.97.1
Oura membership, paid monthly$71.88$215.64 plus the ring12 × $5.99 = $71.88; 3 × $71.88 = $215.64.1
WHOOP One$199$5973 × $199 = $597.3
WHOOP Peak$239$7173 × $239 = $717.3
WHOOP Life$359$1,0773 × $359 = $1,077.3
Elio$0 recurring$264 in totalOne payment of $264; no subscription.4

Simple multiplication of listed prices, before tax and without trial offers or price changes. Paying Oura yearly instead of monthly saves $71.88 − $69.99 = $1.89 a year at the listed prices.

Read the table as a shape, not a forecast. Makers change prices, and a plan you start today may cost something else in year three. What does not change is the structure: Oura and WHOOP charge a recurring fee for the features they describe, and Elio charges once.134

Monthly cost, worked out

WHOOP lists its plans per year, so a monthly figure is a division. $199 divided by 12 is about $16.58 a month for One, $239 divided by 12 is about $19.92 for Peak, and $359 divided by 12 is about $29.92 for Life.3 Oura’s monthly listing is $5.99.1 The two are not like for like, because the WHOOP price includes the device and Oura’s does not.

How do a ring and a band differ day to day?

A ring sits on one finger and is out of the way for typing, lifting and sleep. Oura describes Ring 5 as titanium and waterproof to 100 m, at 6.09 mm wide and 2.28 mm thick.2 The tradeoff is size selection: battery life on the page depends on ring size, and the sizing has to be right for the sensors to sit well.

A band goes on the wrist or upper arm. WHOOP’s page lists a 14+ day battery and a wireless PowerPack that comes with the plan.3 Elio’s page lists a magnetic recharge and a wrist or upper arm fit.4 Because neither band has a screen, the phone app is where you read the numbers.

Neither shape is better by default. Pick the one you will wear every night. A reading you did not record because the device sat on a charger or in a drawer is the same as no reading.

For a wider look at rings, see the guide to best smart rings. For other bands that sit beside WHOOP, see WHOOP alternatives, and for other rings beside Oura, Oura Ring alternatives.

What do they measure, and what do they not?

Both devices read the body through light sensors on the skin and a motion sensor. Oura lists red and infrared LEDs for blood oxygen, green and infrared LEDs for heart rate, heart rate variability and respiration, a temperature sensor and an accelerometer.2 Elio lists heart rate, heart rate variability, SpO₂, skin temperature and activity.4 WHOOP lists sleep, recovery and strain scores, and adds Healthspan and a Health Monitor on Peak.3

A sleep study works differently. The NHLBI says sleep studies use sensors that record eye movements and brain activity to classify sleep stages.6 A ring or band does not record either one, so any stage label on a consumer device is an estimate. Total time asleep and the trend over weeks are the sturdier numbers.

The FDA’s general wellness guidance covers low risk products that promote a healthy lifestyle, a category the guidance separates from products meant for disease care.7 That is the right frame for all three devices: wellness trackers, not medical tools. Chutex says the same about Elio: its measurements are indicative, it is not FDA-cleared, and it does not guarantee detection of any heart or sleep condition.4

The NHLBI advises adults to sleep 7 to 9 hours a night, and notes that adults who sleep under 7 hours may have more health issues.5 A device can tell you how long you slept. It cannot tell you why you feel tired, and a change that lasts for weeks is a reason to talk to a health professional.

Who is each one for?

Fit by situation. These are decision aids built from the table above, not rankings.
If you…Look first at…Why
Want a device that disappears on your handOura Ring 5Titanium ring, from 2 grams, waterproof to 100 m.2
Want the longest listed battery among the two paid optionsWHOOP14+ days listed, against up to 6 to 9 days for the ring.23
Want a single price and no recurring billElio$264 once, no subscription.4
Already pay for several apps and dislike another billElio or another one-time optionOura and WHOOP both bill on a schedule.13
Want to try before committing for a yearOura (first month free) or WHOOP (trial page)Oura lists a free first month for new members; WHOOP lists a one-month trial of Peak.13

WHOOP’s trial listing is for a Peak membership with a certified pre-owned 5.0 device, as written on its page.

If you are still deciding on the signals themselves, the guides to heart rate variability and the best HRV monitors explain what the number means and which devices report it.

How to choose in four steps

  1. Write down your budget for three years. Use the table above. Add the device price where it is listed, then the recurring fee multiplied by three.
  2. Decide where you will wear it. Finger, wrist or upper arm. Choose the spot you can keep up every night, including during sleep.
  3. Check what happens if you stop paying. Oura says the ring and app still work with limited insights. Read the cancellation terms on any plan before you buy.
  4. Look at the scores you will actually read. A sleep score, a recovery score and a heart rate trend cover most daily use. Extra features add cost, not necessarily value to you.

Run the same device for at least two weeks before judging it. Day to day numbers move around, and a few nights of data say little about your baseline. If you want a number to compare, read what a sleep score is and how readiness scores work.

Frequently asked questions

Is Oura or WHOOP better?

Neither is better for everyone. Oura is a ring with a US membership listed at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year. WHOOP is a band with memberships at $199, $239 or $359 a year that include the device. Choose by where you will wear it, battery and total cost.

Do Oura and WHOOP require a subscription?

Oura says the ring and app still work without a membership, with much more limited insights. WHOOP sells the device through a membership. The page read did not say what WHOOP does without an active plan.

How much does Oura cost per month?

Oura lists its US membership at $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year before tax. The ring itself is bought separately, and a dollar price for it was not stated on the page read.

How much does WHOOP cost?

WHOOP lists One at $199 a year, Peak at $239 a year and Life at $359 a year, each including a device. The Life plan comes with the MG device.

Which has the longer battery, Oura or WHOOP?

WHOOP lists a 14+ day battery. Oura Ring 5 lists up to 6 to 9 days, depending on ring size and usage. Each maker tests under its own conditions.

Is there a tracker like these without a subscription?

Yes. Elio is a $264 one-time purchase with no subscription. Other makers also list one-time options; see the guide to fitness trackers without a subscription.

Can Oura or WHOOP tell me if I have a sleep disorder?

No consumer ring or band can. Sleep studies use sensors for brain activity and eye movements. A tracker shows trends you can bring to a clinician.

Sources

  1. Oura, Membership (US member pricing, trial month, what works without a membership), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  2. Oura, Oura Ring 5 (battery, materials, sensors, features), Oura. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  3. WHOOP, Membership options (US prices, battery, features by tier), WHOOP. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  4. Chutex Elio US product page (price, battery, sensors, status), Chutex. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  5. NHLBI, How Sleep Works: How Much Sleep Is Enough? (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  6. NHLBI, How Sleep Works: Sleep Phases and Stages (last updated March 24, 2022), National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. Retrieved October 16, 2026
  7. FDA, General Wellness: Policy for Low Risk Devices (content current 01/06/2026), U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Retrieved October 16, 2026